
 

 

 
       
June 21, 2010 
 
 
TO:  Law Enforcement Agencies 
  Judges 
  Clerks of Court 
 
FROM: Dana Reiding, Chief 
  Bureau of Records 
  Division of Driver Licenses 
 
SUBJECT: Red Light Cameras, House Bill 325 

 
 
The Governor has signed House Bill 325, which authorizes the use of red light cameras.  
Effective July 1, 2010, counties or municipalities are authorized to allow the use of red light 
cameras to enforce Sections 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(c)1., Florida Statutes.   
 
The bill creates Section 316.0083, Florida Statutes, which establishes procedures related to red 
light camera violations.  The steps below apply once a municipality or county determines a red 
light violation has occurred. 
 
 
Step 1:  Notice to the Owner 
 
Specifically, the county or municipality (or its vendor) must issue a notice of violation to the 
registered owner of the vehicle within 30 days after the violation.  The notice must contain the 
photo of the tag/intersection, the time/date stamp of the violation, a time and place or Internet 
location where the evidence may be examined/observed, and an explanation of the penalty and 
remedies.  The penalty is $158 and must be paid directly to the entity sending the notice.   
 
Within 30 days after the date of the first class mail notification, the owner must either: 
 

1. Pay the penalty to the county or municipality OR 
 

2. Submit an affidavit claiming one of the following exemptions: 
 



• The driver was trying to yield the right of way to an emergency vehicle or as part 
of a funeral procession; 

• The driver passed through the intersection at the direction of law enforcement; 
• The motor vehicle was in the care, custody or control of another person, in which 

case the owner must provide additional information identifying the driver or 
proving theft of the vehicle.  If the vehicle owner identifies another person as the 
driver, that driver may receive a citation. 

• A uniform traffic citation (UTC) was issued for this offense by a law enforcement 
officer to the driver already.  The affidavit must include the number of the 
uniform traffic citation. 

 
 
Step 2:  Issuance of Uniform Traffic Citation 
 
If a payment has not been made or an affidavit has not been submitted within 30 days of the 
notification, the entity must send a UTC, written by a traffic infraction enforcement officer, by 
certified mail to the registered owner of the vehicle.  The UTC must be mailed no later than 60 
days after the date of the violation. 
 
The county or municipality must electronically transmit the traffic citation data to the Clerk of 
Court within five days after the issuance of the citation to the violator.  All counties or 
municipalities issuing UTCs for red light camera violations are required to produce electronic 
citations (e-citations), and not handwritten pre-printed paper UTCs as required in section 
316.650(3)(c ).  The e-citations used for red light cameras must be approved by the Department 
and meet uniform standards for format and content. 
 
Once the UTC has been issued, the owner/driver must pay the penalty plus court fees to the 
Clerk of Court.  The estimated total civil penalty if paid to the clerk is $256.  Alternatively, the 
owner/driver may request a hearing under Section 318.14(5), F.S., and may be subject to civil 
penalties by the court. 
 
Additionally, if the issuing entity determines that the UTC was issued in error, the entity may 
provide documentation to the driver to present to the Clerk of Court requesting dismissal.  The 
Clerk of Court is authorized to dismiss the citation in these instances, but may not charge a fee 
for the dismissal. 
 
 
Step 3:  Driver License Penalties 
 
If a UTC is issued, the Clerk of Court is required to transmit the UTC data and disposition to the 
Department through the Traffic Citation Accounting Transmission System (TCATS).  The 
Department will assign a new violation code specifically for violations of Sections 316.074(1) 
and 316.075(1)(c)1., F.S., when written under the guidelines in Section 316.0083, F.S., by a 
traffic infraction enforcement officer. 
 



Regardless of disposition, no points will be assessed to the driver record for Red Light Camera 
violations.  However, if the owner/driver pays the civil penalty or is otherwise found guilty, the 
violation will be recorded as a conviction on the driver record. 
 
Red light camera violators will not be required by the Department to complete a basic driver 
improvement course under Section 322.0261(4), unlike violators cited for running a red light by 
a law enforcement officer.   
 
 
Other Provisions of the Bill 
 
This bill establishes the base fines for all red light violations written under Section 316.074(1) 
and 316.075(1)(c)1., F.S., to $158.  This new rate applies to citations written by law enforcement 
officers as well as those written by traffic infraction enforcement officers using red light 
cameras. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact Bonnie Scott-Walls at (850) 617-2702 or at 
bonniescott-walls@flhsmv.gov.  Please visit our web site at www.flhsmv.gov/courts for other 
reference documents. 
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