Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Driver License Suspensions and Revocations

Your Driving Privilege Menu


 

How do I clear a suspension for failure to comply with traffic summons, to appear on a traffic summons or to pay fine?

Driver license is suspended indefinitely. Contact the traffic court in the county where the traffic summons was issued, satisfy the traffic summons and present proof of the satisfaction plus a D6 suspension reinstatement fee in any Florida driver license office. Some traffic courts allow payment for the traffic summons online via credit card.  Check the traffic court web site to determine if you can pay yours now.

Out-of-state residents must send the satisfaction and a D6 suspension reinstatement fee and a letter of residency to:


The Bureau of Motorist Compliance
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5775
Make Check Payable to the Division of Motorist Services

A clearance letter will be mailed to you. If inquiring about an out-of-state traffic summons on the Florida driver record, contact the court that has jurisdiction. If more ticket information is needed, contact the Bureau of Customer Services at (850) 617-2000.

How do I clear unpaid tickets?

Tickets must be paid in the traffic court in the county in which the citation was issued. Some traffic courts allow payment online via credit card.  Check the traffic court web site to determine if you can pay yours now.

How do I clear a suspension for failure to complete court-ordered school or school election was made, but I did not attend, or school election was made and I was not eligible to attend?

Driver license is suspended indefinitely. Contact the traffic court in the county where the traffic summons was issued, satisfy the traffic summons and present proof of the satisfaction plus a D6 suspension reinstatement fee in any Florida driver license office.

Out-of-state residents must send the satisfaction and a D6 suspension reinstatement fee and a letter of residency to:

The Bureau of Motorist Compliance
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5775

A clearance letter will be mailed to you.

How do I reinstate if my license is revoked for inadequate vision?

The individual must submit a report of eye exam to a Florida Driver License office and may be licensed if minimum vision standards are met. If record states "Inadequate/Field of Vision," then a vision report including a "Field of Vision Chart" must be mailed to:

The Bureau of Motorist Compliance
Vision Section
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 87
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0570

The Medical Board will review the chart, advise the department,  and the department will advise the individual.

How do I reinstate after my license is suspended for being incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely?

Suspension is for one year. You are not eligible for a hardship license but can request a hearing for the purpose of requesting one or two more opportunities to pass the test.

When the suspension has expired, then the subject must pass the exams required before re-licensing.

What is the suspension for 12 points in 12 months?

...18 points in 18 months?
...24 points in 36 months?

12 points earned within 12 months results in a 30-day suspension.
18 points earned within 18 months results in a 3-month suspension.
24 points earned within 36 months results in a 12-month suspension.

Point Value Table - Summary
Point Value Table - Detail by Violation and FL Statute

In computing the total points, the offense date will be used. Points are assigned based on the type of conviction (see point value table) and remain on the driver record for at least 5 years from the date of disposition (conviction). You may apply for a hardship license through the Administrative Reviews Office (see listing "Under Suspension - Need Driver License for Work") where you live. To reinstate for a hardship license or when time expires, you will need to take a required examination, submit Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) school enrollment, a suspension reinstatement fee and any applicable license fees.

How do I reinstate my license after a suspension for a violation (not DUI related) resulting in death or serious bodily injury?

Driver license will be suspended for 3 months to 1 year. You may apply for a hardship through the Administrative Reviews Office (see listing "Under Suspension - Need Driver License for Work") where you live. To reinstate for a hardship license or when time expires, you will need to take a required examination, submit Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) school enrollment, a suspension reinstatement fee and any applicable license fee.

How do I reinstate my license after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)?

Driver license will be revoked for 5 years. After 1 year from the effective date of revocation, you may request a hardship license. Contact the Administrative Reviews Office (see listing "Under Suspension - Need Driver License for Work") where you live. If the hearing with the Administrative review office is favorable you will be authorized to obtain a hardship license for the remainder of the revocation period. You will be required to present enrollment or completion of Advanced Driver Improvement School (ADI) and pay the $75.00 revocation reinstatement fee along with any other applicable fees and a license will be issued restricting your driving to Employment or Business purposes only.

Once the revocation period expires, the hardship restriction no longer applies. You can resume driving for full privileges or you can report to a driver license or tax collector licensing agent office to have a replacement license ($25.00 fee) issued without the hardship restriction.

If you serve the entire HTO revocation period without a hardship license, a hearing with the Administrative Review Office is not required. You can reinstate for full privileges by presenting enrollment or completion of Advanced Driver Improvement School (ADI) and pay the $75.00 revocation reinstatement fee along with any other applicable fees for issuance of a driver license.

How can I be re-licensed in another state after my HTO revocation has expired in Florida?

Contact the Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000 for information on reinstatement requirements.

All 50 states and Washington, DC have websites with motor vehicle information for consumers. Some states have separate agencies for driver licensing vehicle, registration and highway patrol (State Police). Go to other states links.

How do I reinstate after my license is suspended for fraudulently obtaining a driver license?

License will be suspended for one year. The applicant may petition the department for a hearing to determine whether or not fraud has been committed. If not, then the suspension will be removed.

If fraud is proven, then the subject may apply for a hardship license. If approved for hardship, or if the time is expired, a test must be taken, a suspension reinstatement fee , and any applicable license fees.

How do I reinstate after my license is suspended for being delinquent in child support?

This is an indefinite suspension of your driving privilege.

If the suspension was ordered by the Department of Revenue (DOR), call 800-622-5437 or refer to their website. Once you are clear with DOR, they will electronically update our database to reflect the requirements have been met (we cannot accept paper clearances for DOR support suspensions). Please allow 3 to 5 business days for the electronic clearance to update.

If the suspension was ordered by a court, you may take the court affidavit to a driver license office within 30 days of reinstatement.

No exam is required to reinstate, but a Child Support suspension reinstatement fee may be required. If you have more than one support suspension, a reinstatement fee will be required to clear each suspension. For example - 2 support suspensions = $ fee x 2. If the clearance is before the suspension date, the suspension will be deleted and no fee is required.

I have a Florida license and received a traffic ticket in another state. Will this affect my Florida driving record?

If you hold a Florida license and have received a ticket in another state, they will send Florida the ticket information and it will be added to your record. You will receive points on your license if the ticket is a point-accessible violation according to Florida Statute 322.27(3). Florida law does not allow any school or program to remove points for a ticket received in another state.

Any unpaid ticket reported by another state will result in the suspension of your Florida license. If this has happened you must contact the county where you received the ticket and obtain a receipt with the Court seal.

All 50 states and Washington, DC have websites with motor vehicle information for consumers. Some states have separate agencies for driver licensing vehicle, registration and highway patrol (State Police). Go to other states links.

You must present this receipt to DHSMV via fax (850-617-3939), or mail, or in person at any Florida Driver License Office. There will be a D6 suspension reinstatement fee due if the ticket was paid after the Florida suspension date. If you are not sure if you owe the D6 suspension reinstatement fee or have trouble contacting the county where you received the ticket, please call 850-617-2000 or inquire at your local Driver License Office in person.

If a ticket is listed incorrectly on your Florida driving record, please contact the Customer Service Center at 850-617-2000.



FLORiDA Card : More than a license
Go Renew : Renew Online
Gather. Go. Get.
OASIS : Make an Appointment
Link to MyFlorida.comMyFlorida.com       Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Copyright ©2009 State of Florida