Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

SLECA Honors State Law Enforcement Officers

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Main Gallery
Troop A
Troop B
Troop C
Troop D
Troop E
Troop F
Troop G
Troop H
Troop K
Troop L
FHP Training Academy
FHP Training Academy Class Photos
FHP Training Academy Class Activities
Occupant Protection & Child Passenger Safety
Contraband Interdiction Program

SLECA members and guest speakers

The State Law Enforcement Chiefs Association conducted its annual awards ceremony in Tallahassee on March 3. Three members represented the Florida Highway Patrol at the ceremony.

Officer of the Year Nominee
Trooper Komorek
Officer of the Year Nominee
Trooper Danyen Komorek

Investigator of the Year Nominee Lieutenant Jackson
Investigator of the Year Nominee
Lieutenant William Jackson

Trooper Danyen Komorek was nominated for Officer of the Year for her role in pulling an unresponsive driver out of a burning vehicle almost immediately after it crashed, saving the driver’s life. The Patrol nominated Lt. William R. Jackson for Investigator of the Year for his innovative efforts to investigate a cargo theft ring operating in Duval and Hillsborough counties. Because of his diligence, law enforcement officers were able to conduct six cargo theft arrests in Duval County and four arrests in Hillsborough County.

Medal of Valor Recognition Trooper Broughton
Medal of Valor Recognition
Trooper Tammy Broughton

SLECA awarded Trooper Tammy Broughton the Medal of Valor for stopping a conflict in Miami where a subject had already shot an officer from the Department of Environmental Protection twice and was struggling with an agent from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives to disarm him. Trooper Broughton used her TASER to control the subject and ended the violent, life and death struggle without any further injuries.

Additional Photos
(PDF file size 1M)

FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida