Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES REMINDS COMMERCIAL DRIVERS
LICENSE HOLDERS OF NEW HAZMAT ENDORSEMENT REQUIREMENTS


CONTACT For DHSMV:
Frank Penela

January 26, 2005

TALLAHASSEE – The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) wants to remind all Commercial Drivers License (CDL) holders that effective January 31, 2005, new or expired HAZMAT endorsement applicants must be fingerprinted, pass the required Federal background check and present proof of legal presence prior to receiving the hazardous materials endorsement. Beginning April 1, 2005, all persons whose current HAZMAT-endorsed CDL expires on or after May 31, 2005, must meet the same requirements.

The new requirements are the second phase of the Uniting & Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USA PATRIOT) Act. The first phase was implemented in 2003 when the Transportation and Security Administration (TSA) began a name-based screening of all CDL HAZMAT drivers across the country. These additional steps are being implemented to ensure that individuals who transport hazardous materials do not pose a threat to our National Security.

Fingerprinting must be done in a Driver License office at the same time the application for a HAZMAT endorsement is made. In addition to the fingerprinting, an application form must be submitted. DHSMV strongly encourages all applicants to obtain and complete this form, excluding the signature, before reporting to the Driver License office. This form can be downloaded from DHSMV’s Web page at: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ . It is also available at all Driver License offices. There will be a $91 fee charged to cover costs of the background check process, in addition to the standard $50 issuance fee and $5 for each endorsement.

New and expired HAZMAT applicants may be issued a CDL without the HAZMAT endorsement on the day of application. If the application is approved by the TSA, the applicant will be mailed a new license with the HAZMAT endorsement. CDL holders with current HAZMAT endorsements whose licenses expire after May 30, 2005, will receive a renewal notice at least 60 days in advance, advising them to come in no later than 30 days before their expiration date to begin the process. DHSMV urges applicants to begin the background check process early to avoid possible ineligibility to transport hazardous materials while awaiting the results.

        For further information regarding the application process, a listing of offices where HAZMAT endorsements may be obtained, links to the application form and the TSA’s homepage, please check out DHSMV’s Web page at http://www.flhsmv.gov/.

CDL HOLDERS NEW REQUIREMENTS FOR HAZMAT ENDORSEMENT

2005 Press Releases       DHSMV Press Releases



Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida