Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Four-Year Disabled Parking Permit’s Price Will Be Reduced on July 1


CONTACT: Robert Sanchez
Public Information Administrator

April 16, 2002

Beginning July 1, a bill signed last week by Gov. Jeb Bush will result in a lower price for the four-year parking permits issued to persons with long-term or permanent disabilities.

At present, however, the price of a four-year permit remains $15, with $13.50 of that sum going to a trust fund administered by the Florida Department of Transportation and the other $1.50 remaining with county tax collectors to cover their administrative costs.

As of July 1, only the $1.50 administrative fee will remain for persons obtaining the four-year permits. The new law (CS/HB 261) does not alter the $15 price for the parking permits issued to persons with temporary disabilities.

Meanwhile, a Miami-Dade Circuit Court Judge’s decision ordering a refund of the disabled parking permit fees that were collected in the past has been stayed while the Third District Court of Appeal considers the state’s appeal of that ruling.

Disabled persons who qualify for a parking permit may obtain an application form from their local tax collector’s office or on-line from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/83039.pdf.

In addition, persons who qualify for a four-year disabled parking permit may choose instead to purchase a license plate with the international wheelchair user symbol. Disabled veterans may purchase a "DV" license plate in lieu of the parking placard.

2002 Press Releases       DHSMV Press Releases



Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida