Their first year behind the wheel is critical.
That's why Florida - and other states across the country - have
adopted Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) laws for teen drivers.
Florida's laws are designed to help teens gradually - and safely -
build their skills and experience behind the wheel. The parents' job is
to know and enforce the laws.
- Crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in Florida and across the United States.
- Teens face the greatest risk of crashing during their first year of driving. One out of every five licensed 16-year-olds will be in a vehicle crash.
- Teens are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving because they lack experience. Also, their brains are still developing well into their 20s, affecting their judgment while driving.
- Teen drivers and passengers between 15 -18 years of age were involved in 12,615 crashes in 2013. Tragically, 45 were killed.
Letter to Parents
Click to find out more about Florida's latest GDL laws and for more information about teen driving and how to help your teen become a better, safer driver.