
Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 

1) Who is a manufacturer? 

Manufacturers of Mobile Homes: 
 

 
Pursuant to section 320.8225(10), Florida Statutes, " "Mobile home manufacturer" means 
any person, resident or nonresident, who, as a trade or commerce, manufactures or 
assembles mobile homes.” 
 

2) Where can I find information regarding the licensing procedures for manufacturers 
of Mobile Homes? 

 
            You can log on to the Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html.  

And click on “How Do I” and “Learn More About Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor 
License.” 

 
3) Where can I download the application form for manufacturers of mobile homes? 

 
            You can download the application form HSMV 84256 Application for a License as a 

Motor Vehicle Manufacturer, Importer, Distributor, Mobile Home, or Recreational 
Vehicle Manufacturer  from the Department’s website at 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html. and click on motor vehicle forms. 

 
4) Are manufacturers of mobile homes required to be licensed by the Department in 

the State of Florida? 
 
            Yes.  Manufacturers of mobile homes are required to be licensed by the Department. 
 

5)      Is it necessary to register my business and fictitious name with the Division of 
Corporations? 

 
 Yes.  It is necessary to register your business name and fictitious name with the Division 

of Corporations.  In order to conduct business in the State of Florida, registration of your 
business with the Division of Corporations is required.  A copy of this registration must 
be submitted with your application for a manufacturer, importer or distributor license to 
the Department. 

 
6)      Where should I register my business name and fictitious name? 

 
      You can register your business name and fictitious name with the Division of     

Corporations at http://www.sunbiz.org/.  This must be kept active in order to conduct 
business in the State of Florida.   
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7) What are the documents that are required with the mobile home manufacturer 
license application? 

 
• Completed application form 84256. This form can be accessed at the Department’s 

website at www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html.  
• Check payable to the DHSMV in the amount of $340.  
• A current financial statement.  
• A copy of the product warranty.  
• Original surety bond or Letter of Credit in the amount of $50,000 for mobile home 

manufacturers. Form HSMV 86050, Surety Bond Mobile Home Manufacturer can be 
accessed on the Departments website at www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html. 

• Federal Employer’s Identification Number (FEIN).  
• For corporations, a copy of their Articles of Incorporation as filed with the Division 

of Corporations in the office of the Secretary of State.  A foreign corporation (i.e., 
one from out-of-state) must also submit a copy of its Articles of Incorporation as filed 
with the Secretary of State or a copy of its Articles of Incorporation as filed in their 
home state.  

• Proof of registration with the Florida Secretary of State, Division of Corporations to 
conduct business in Florida, must be provided with the application. Further 
information about this process can be accessed on-line from the Division of 
Corporations at www.sunbiz.org.  

• Proof of registration of fictitious name(s) with the Florida Secretary of State, Division 
of Corporations must be provided with the application. Further information about this 
process can be accessed on-line from the Division of Corporations at 
www.sunbiz.org.  

• A sample of the original Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) or 
Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) your company intends to issue. The 
MSO or MCO must be printed in accordance with the attached specification set forth 
by the State of Florida. The MSO can be stamped “Void” or “Specimen” across the 
front. 

 
 You can log on to the Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html.  

And click on “How Do I” and “Learn More About Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor 
License.”  This site will guide you in detail regarding the required documents. 

 
8) How soon can I expect to receive my mobile home manufacturer’s license from the 

time I submit my application? 
 

The documents required to be licensed are important and have to be thoroughly reviewed 
and processed with utmost accuracy and care.  Therefore, you may find that the after the 
Dealer License Section in Tallahassee receives your application for a  manufacturer’s 
license, the staff will be in touch with you by mail, e-mail, fax or telephone regarding any 
missing documents or information.  However, you can expect your license as soon as the 
completed application, fee and all required documents are received.   

  
9) Is it against the law to sell before I meet the licensing requirements as a mobile 

home manufacturer? 
 

It is against the law to sell before you have met the licensing requirements as a mobile 
home manufacturer.  
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10) How much is the initial licensing fee for a mobile home manufacturer? 

 
            The initial licensing fee is $300.  An additional fee of $40 for Mobile Home and 

Recreational Vehicle Protection Trust Fund is also charged.   
 

11)   What is the licensing period? 
 
           The licensing period for mobile home manufacturers is from October 1-September 30. 
 

12)    How much is the renewal fee? 
  
 The renewal fee is $100.  An additional fee of $40 for Mobile Home and Recreational 

Vehicle Protection Trust Fund is also charged.   
 

13) What happens if I fail to renew my license before September 30?  
 

Failure to renew your license before September 30 will result in the expiration of your 
license.  Thereafter, you will have to apply for a new license with a new application and 
fee.   
 
Please note

14) What form should I use to renew my mobile home manufacturer’s license?     

:  Failure to renew will halt your business in the State of Florida. 
  

      Where can I download the form? 
 

You must complete form HSMV form 86218 Renewal Application for a Mobile Home or 
Recreational Vehicle Replacement Manufacturer.  You can download this form from the 
Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html.   

 
15) What required documents must I submit with my renewal form? 

 
• A completed and signed renewal application form (available on-line at 

http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html). 
• License renewal fee of $140 for each location, please make check payable to 

DHSMV. 
• A current financial statement or condensed balance sheet. 
• An original surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, or original continuation 

certificate in the amount of $50,000. 
• Copy of certification from the Division of Corporations showing current registration 

of business and fictitious names(s) (on-line access at www.sunbiz.org). 
 

NOTE: Please attach a copy of the financial statement and a copy of the original surety 
bond, or irrevocable letter of credit, or original continuation certificate in the amount of 
$50,000 for all additional location renewals. 

 
You can log on to the Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html.  
And click on “How Do I” and “Learn More About Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor 
License.”  This site will guide you in detail regarding the required documents.   
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16) What is a surety bond? 
 

            Section 320.8225(5)(a), Florida Statutes, states “Annually, prior to the receipt of a license 
to manufacture mobile homes, the applicant or licensee shall submit a surety bond, cash 
bond, or letter of credit from a financial institution, or a proper continuation certificate, 
sufficient to assure satisfaction of claims against the licensee for failure to comply with 
appropriate code standards, failure to provide warranty service, or violation of any 
provisions of this section. The amount of the surety bond, cash bond, or letter of credit 
must be $50,000. Only one surety bond, cash bond, or letter of credit shall be required for 
each manufacturer, regardless of the number of factory locations. The surety bond, cash 
bond, or letter of credit must be to the Department, in favor of any retail customer who 
suffers a loss arising out of noncompliance with code standards or failure to honor or 
provide warranty service. The Department may disapprove any bond or letter of credit 
that does not provide assurance as provided in this section.” 

 
17)   What is the amount that the surety bond should be made for? 

 
            $50,000. 
 

18)   Does a surety bond company have to use the Department surety bond form?  If yes, 
where can I download one? 

 
            Yes.  The Departmental form HSMV 86050 Surety Bond Mobile Home Manufacturer  

must be used.  You can download the form at the Department’s website at 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html.  

 
19) Is a mobile home manufacturer required to be licensed by the Department for each 

location? 
  
 Yes.  A mobile home manufacturer is required to be licensed by the Department for each 

location. 
 

20) Is a separate surety bond required for each licensed location of a mobile home 
manufacturer? 

 
No.  Only one surety bond is required for each manufacturer, regardless of the number of 
factory locations. 

 
21) Can a mobile home manufacturer submit an irrevocable letter of credit in lieu of a 

surety bond? 
 

Yes.  A mobile home manufacturer can submit an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a 
financial institution. 

 
23)    Does a financial institution have to use the Department’s Irrevocable Letter of 

Credit form?  If yes, where can I download one? 
 

Yes.  The Departmental form HSMV 86059 Irrevocable Letter of Credit for Mobile 
Home Manufacturer must be used by the financial institution.  You can download the 
form at the Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html. 
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24)    Is it necessary to register my business and fictitious name with the Division of 
Corporations? 

 
 Yes.  It is necessary to register your business name and fictitious name with the Division 

of Corporations at www.sunbiz.org.  In order to conduct business in the State of Florida, 
registration of your business with the Division of Corporations is required.  A copy of 
this registration must be submitted with your application for a manufacturer, importer or 
distributor license to the Department. 

 
25)    Where should I register my business name and fictitious name? 

 
      You can register your business name and fictitious name with the Division of     

Corporations at http://www.sunbiz.org/.  This must be kept active in order to conduct 
business in the State of Florida.   
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