
 
 

Historical Timeline 

Division of Driver Licenses 

A.K.A. Division of Motorist Services 

1939  The Department of Public Safety was established. The director was named by, 
and reported to, the Governor and the Chairman of the State Road Department. 

The department was housed in a one-room office in the Martin Building (site of 

the present Tallahassee City Hall).  

1939 First Florida driver licensing law enacted. The law required everyone to obtain a 

driver license if they intended to drive, but no examination was required. Licenses 
were issued by the county judges. The license fee was 50 cents per year. A "Head 

of the household" could make a multiple application and obtain a driver license 

for each member of his family. The Division of State Motor Vehicles Drivers' 

Licenses was a part of the Motor Vehicle Commission. The Division Supervisor was 
W. B. Lindsay. The salary for the position ranged from a minimum of $250 to a 

maximum of $300 per month.  

1941  The Department of Public Safety was placed under the control of the Governor 

and Cabinet. Jess J. Gilliam was Director of the Department and Commander of 

the Division of Florida Highway Patrol. The salary for the position ranged from a 
minimum of $333 to a maximum of $400 per month.  

1941  The Division of State Motor Vehicles Drivers' Licenses was transferred from the 

Motor Vehicle Commission to the Department of Public Safety. Tom King was 

designated as Auditor and Cashier of the Division at a salary of $160 per month. 

1941  Driver license examinations were required for original licenses. Thirty Florida 

Highway Patrolmen, including C.W. Keith, were given 2 weeks of intensive training 
in driver licensing and were assigned to administer the examinations in addition 

to their regular patrol duties. The license fee was increased to fifty cents per year 

for drivers under 18, $1.00 for Operators over 18, and $1.50 for Chauffeurs. The 



County Judge retained fifteen cents per license for the first 10,000 issued, ten cents 

for the second 10,000 and five cents for each additional license issued. All fees, 

except the judges' fees, were deposited in the State Drivers License fund, 

earmarked for operation of the Department of Public Safety.  

1942  Tom King was named Supervisor of the Division of State Motor Vehicle Drivers' 

Licenses.  

1945  C. W. Keith was appointed coordinator of the driver license program.  

1946  The first comprehensive driver license examination program was developed.  

1946  The first Florida Examiner's Manual was published.  

1946  The need was established for a professional staff of civilian examiners whose sole 
duty would be conducting driver license examinations. Cecil G. Kemp was 
appointed as the first full-time civilian driver license examiner at a salary of $100 
per month. The examiner uniform was the same as the highway patrol uniform, 
except for a patch with the word "Examiner" sewn at the bottom of the shoulder 
patch. Examiner uniforms and vehicles consisted of surplus used items from the 
highway patrol.  

1946  C. W. Keith was designated as Chief Examiner for the State.  

1947 Florida became the first state in the nation to develop and implement the "One 
License" concept. This concept, which basically holds that a driver needs only a 
license from his home state and that all other licenses should be surrendered, 
has since been made a part of the Driver License Compact used by the various 
states.  

1948 Florida won the award for outstanding achievement in the national traffic safety 
contest sponsored by the National Safety Council. Florida also won this award in 
1949, 1952, 1954, 1960, and 1961 before the program was discontinued.  

1950 The salary for a beginning examiner was $150 per month. An increase of $15 per 
month was permitted in each of the first 5 years of service. No further raises were 
granted until the examiner achieved 10 years of service, when a $25 per month 
longevity raise was granted. No additional increases were granted until 15 years 
of service were completed. At that time, a longevity raise of $50 per month was 
granted. No further salary increases were possible unless across the board raises 
were granted.  

1950 Florida developed the first classified driver license program whereby a driver 
passed the road test in the type vehicle he intended to drive. Six types of licenses 
were issued:  

• Temporary Restricted License issued to persons 14 years of age and older 
to learn to drive.  

• Restricted Operator License issued to persons between 14 and 16 who 
passed the road test at the time of issuance. This license automatically 
became an Operator license at age 16.  

• Operator License issued to persons 16 years of age and older who passed 



the complete examination.  

• Chauffeur License issued to persons 18 years of age and older who passed 
the road test in a single unit vehicle. This license did not permit operation 
of buses or taxicabs.  

• Special Chauffeur License issued to persons 18 years of age and older who 
presented a notarized statement from their employer that they had been 
hired to drive a taxicab or a bus together with a notarized character 
reference from three reputable citizens and who passed the road test in the 
type vehicle they were hired to drive. Bus drivers were restricted to the seat 
capacity of the bus in which they took the road test. Seat capacity was 
based on 13 inches of rump room per seat.  

• Unlimited Special Chauffeur License requirements were the same as for a 
Special Chauffeur except that the road test had to be taken in a semi-
truck/tractor and trailer. This license permitted the operation of all types 
of vehicles.  

1955  The first school for Driver License Examiners was conducted in Tallahassee. The 
41 examiners who attended had conducted 250,000 examinations in 1954.  

1955  Examiners were used on a part-time basis to serve revocation and suspension 
orders and conduct investigations since the department felt too much patrol 
time was being lost by the patrolmen who performed this function.  

1955  The Florida Financial Responsibility Law was enacted to provide for driver license 
suspension for uninsured drivers who were involved in motor vehicle accidents. 
Between 1947 and 1955, the Financial Responsibility Law affected only tags and 
registration.  

1955  Proof of date of birth required for initial licenses.  

1955  Mrs. Carolyn F. Martin was designated Assistant Supervisor of the Division of 
Driver Licenses.  

1957  Eight FHP troopers were designated Special Service Officers and assigned duties 
as Driver License Supervisors to oversee the work of the examiners.  

1957  The classified driver license program was discontinued due to problems 
experienced by the public in obtaining heavy vehicles and getting them to and 
from the test sites plus the difficulties experienced in administering road tests in 
such vehicles in congested areas. 

1957  The position of Revocation and Suspension Officer was established as a full-
time position to serve orders and conduct investigations.  

1958  Employees were authorized to cut off the sleeves of the summer uniform shirts in 
order to have short sleeved shirts instead of the former long sleeved, double-
button cuffed, summer uniform shirts.  

1958  The department moved its headquarters from the Martin Building to the newly 
constructed Neil Kirkman Building. This four-story building was constructed at a 
total cost of half a million dollars.  



1958  The Drivers License Division had 115 examiners and 8 driver license supervisors 
to handle almost 500,000 applicants per year. There were 3.5 million drivers in 
the State.  

1958  FHP troopers were fazed out of examining, serving orders, and conducting 
investigations.  

1959  The responsibility for conducting administrative hearings for reinstatement of 
revoked or suspended driver licenses was transferred from the Parole 
Commission to the Drivers License Division. Prior to the transfer, a person who 
desired early reinstatement of a revoked license had to apply to the Parole 
Commission in Tallahassee. If approved, the licensee was placed on formal 
parole, with the Examiner as his parole officer. Violation of any of the terms of the 
parole, such as violating restrictions, failure to report to the Examiner as parole 
officer, etc., were grounds for revocation of the license.  

1959  The position of Hearing Officer was established as a full-time position to conduct 
administrative hearings.  

1959  The first new examiners' cars were purchased.  

1961  Florida' began collecting a $1.00 examination fee. The fee for a reinstatement 
was $5.00.  

1962  The examiners' work schedules were changed from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday 
through Saturday with one hour for lunch to 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through 
Friday with thirty minutes for lunch.  

1963  Upon the death of Tom King, the driver license law was changed to provide for a 
Division Director who must be a member of the uniform division of the Florida 
Highway Patrol and whose pay and allowance must be equivalent to that of a 
major. C. W. Keith was promoted to the rank of major and named the first 
Director of the Drivers License Division.  

1964  Comer Boswell was employed as the first black driver license examiner in Florida.  

1964  Examiners were issued tan, non-FHP uniforms.  

1965  The first air conditioned examiners' cars were purchased.  

1967  The examination fee was increased to $3.00 for a regular examination and $15.00 
for a reinstatement.  

1967  Minimum age for a Restricted Operator License was raised to 15.  

1967  The first 2 year driver licenses were issued.  

1967  The Implied Consent law was enacted to provide for license suspension if a driver 
who had been placed under arrest for DWI refused to submit to a chemical test 
for intoxication.  

1967  Florida became a part of the Driver License Compact.  

1968  The Division began conversion of the manual driver files to computerized files. As 
a part of the conversion, all driver license numbers were converted from a simple 
audit number to a 15 digit alpha-numeric driver control number based upon 



name, date of birth, and sex.  

1969  Governmental reorganization merged the Department of Public Safety and the 
Department of Motor Vehicles to create the Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles with H. N. Kirkman as Executive Director. This established three 
operating divisions in the department: Division of Driver Licenses, with C. W. Keith 
as Director, Division of Highway Patrol, with Reid Clifton as Director, and Division 
of Motor Vehicles, with Arch Livingston as Director. A Division of Administrative 
Services, with Audry Carter as Director, was later created to support the three 
operating divisions. 

1969  Verline Burkett was hired as the first Clerk Examiner at a salary of $381 per month 
to assist in conducting inside examinations.  

1970  The Division of Driver Licenses consisted of two bureaus; the Bureau of Records, 
headed by Carolyn F. Martin, and the Bureau of Examining and Driver 
Improvement, headed by Captain Tom Joyce. Lieutenant Don Keirn was the 
Administrator of the Driver Improvement Section and Lieutenant Glenn Blocker 
was the Administrator of the Examining Section. In addition to its clerical staff, 
the Driver Improvement section consisted of the Administrator and one Driver 
Improvement Analyst. The Examining Section had a total of 156 examiners in 86 
field offices.  

1970  The state was administratively divided into 4 driver license regions. Lieutenant C. 
B. Highsmith and Sergeants James Chancy, Roland Hudson, and C. J. Hutches 
retired from the Highway Patrol and became the first Driver License Regional 
Supervisors with the rank of DL Lieutenant.  

1970  Senior Examiners J. R. Collier, Jr., J. W. McInnis, P. Z. Pickens and R. A. Weaver 
became the first civilian driver license District Supervisors with the rank of DL 
Sergeant.  

1970  Driver License issuance was transferred from the county judges to the Division of 
Driver Licenses. Under Central Issuance, temporary driving permits were issued 
in the field offices and all driver licenses were issued by computer from 
Tallahassee and mailed to the licensees. All driver license applications had to be 
typed. This placed a typing proficiency requirement on the examiners.  

1970  107 additional Clerk-Examiners were employed to handle the typing 
requirements and conduct inside examinations.  

1970  Selected field offices experimented with evening operating hours. The offices 
were open until 9 p.m. two nights a week. The experiment was discontinued due 
to a lack of customers.  

1970  The Department began using United Parcel Service instead of U.S. mail.  

1970 Applicants under the age of 18 were required to complete a driver education 
course in order to get a driver license.  

1971 The tan, military-style uniform was replaced with blue, blazer-type uniforms for 
examiners.  

1971  Reexamination was required for license renewal every four years. Two-year 
renewals were handled by mail in the year when reexamination was not required.  



1971  License expiration was based on the first letter of the last name and even/odd 
year of birth.  

1971  Driver license rank (Lieutenant and Sergeant) was abolished.  

1971 Major C. W. Keith retired from the Florida Highway Patrol and became the first 
civilian director of the Division of Driver Licenses.  

1972  Three Clerk Typist III's (Clerk-Examiners) were upgraded to Examiner I.  

1972  The first computer terminals were installed in headquarters for on-line record 
inquiries.  

1972  The Uniform Traffic Ticket program was implemented. All enforcement agencies 
were required by law to utilize the uniform traffic ticket which was prepared and 
distributed at no cost to the agencies by the State.  

1972 The Habitual Offender Law was enacted in an effort to identify problem drivers 
and remove them from the highways.  

1973  The examiner's work schedules were changed to 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. in an effort to 
make office schedules more convenient for the public. The schedule reverted to 8 
a.m. until 5 p.m. after a trial period of 6 months due to lack of public response 
between 5 and 6 p.m.  

1973  Alan Cochrane was named Assistant Director of the Division of Driver Licenses. 
The Bureau of Examining and Driver Improvement was divided into the Bureau of 
Driver Improvement, headed by Don Keirn, and the Bureau of Field Operations, 
headed by Richard Weaver. J. W. McInnis was named Coordinator of the Color 
Photographic License Program.  

1973  Original applicants were given the option of purchasing either a 2 or 4 year driver 
license. Renewals with reexamination were for 4 years. Renewals without 
reexamination were for 2 years.  

1973  Computer terminals were installed in all field driver license offices for on-line 
inquiry into the driver records. Driver records were provided to local courts and 
enforcement agencies.  

1973  Central Issuance ended. 

1973  Color photographic driver licenses were issued in the field offices beginning 
December 3rd. Florida was the first state in the nation to issue instant licenses 
with a negative film file. This permitted Florida to issue the licenses while the 
applicants were in the field offices and still maintain central control.  

1974  The Governor's Management Efficiency Study Commission reported that the 
Bureau of Field Operations was overstaffed and recommended deletion of 100 
examiner positions. This was accomplished by deleting 65 positions between 1975 
and 1977 and reducing subsequent budget requests for additional staff.  

1974  Color photographic ID cards were issued in the field offices to non-drivers over 18 
years of age.  

1974  The even/odd year expiration system ended.  



1975 Organ donor cards to be carried with driver licenses were issued in the field 
offices. (FS 765.521)  

1975 Court-ordered temporary driving permits were issued on the first DWI conviction 
if the department's records showed the offender was otherwise eligible for license 
issuance. This permitted the offender to continue driving until the date of his 
administrative hearing.  

1975  The reinstatement examination fee following a revocation was increased to 
$35.00.  

1975  Most traffic offenses were decriminalized and designated as infractions.  

1975  Failure to pay a fine for a traffic infraction resulted in suspension of the offender's 
driver license.  

1975  The Medical Advisory Board was formally established by statute to replace the 
informal Medical Advisory Committee. 

1975  The statutes were amended to eliminate the requirement that applicants under 
the age of 18 complete a driver education course in order to obtain a driver 
license.  

1976  Study of Examiner Workload System (DDL and Office of Safety Information 
Research Services). 

1976  The optional 2 year license was eliminated. All driver licenses were issued for 4 
years.  

1976  All licenses expired at midnight on the licensee's birthday instead of the last day of 
the birth month.  

1976  Replacement licenses for a fee of $1.00 were issued to make changes in name, 
address, or restrictions if the licensee surrendered a valid Florida license. This 
eliminated the need to issue a $2.50 duplicate license in these cases.  

1976  The Bureau of Financial Responsibility, headed by Ralph Cobb, was transferred to 
the Division of Driver Licenses from the Department of Insurance. This transfer 
added 78 Field Insurance Representatives (FR Specialists) to the Bureau of Field 
Operations staff.  

1977  The first phase of on-line update of computer records was implemented with the 
CDR entry which enabled the examiner to clear all revocations, suspensions and 
cancellations on the driver record.  

1977  The minimum age for an ID card was reduced to 15.  

1977 Procedures for parental consent for licensing of minors were changed to require 
only 1 signature instead of 2.  

1977  No parental consent required for licensing of married minors.  

1977  The Financial Responsibility reinstatement fee was increased to $15.00.  

1977  J. M. Watkins was designated as the first DL Specialist.  



1977 Driver Improvement Schools were required for reinstatement of revoked or 
suspended licenses.  

1977 The experimental 4 day, 40 hour workweek began in selected driver license 
offices. Experimental schedules included 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through 
Thursday, 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, 8 a.m. until 7 p.m. Monday 
through Thursday, and 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday. The 
experiment was initially intended to run for 9 months, but it was extended since 
more information was felt to be needed.  

1978 Florida joined the Non-Resident Violator's Compact to permit issuance of traffic 
citations to out-of-state licensees instead of formal arrests for most violations 
and to permit license suspension upon notice of failure to comply with the terms 
of the citation.  

1978  Driver licenses required for moped operation.  

1978 Statutes were amended to permit the Division Director to authorize driver license 
employees to issue Uniform Traffic Tickets for driver license violations.  

1978  Proof of financial responsibility required for reinstatement following certain 
revocations and suspensions.  

1978  Statutes were amended to provide for forgiveness of 3 points upon reinstatement 
after the first point suspension.  

1978  The minimum age for an ID card was reduced to 12.  

1979  Study -- Driver Improvement Workload (Management and Planning Services).  

1979  Study -- Applicant Processing Time (DHSMV Task Force).  

1979  The Uniform Traffic Citation program was upgraded to section level. K. D. Corbin 
was retitled as Administrator of the Uniform Traffic Citation Section.  

1979  C. N. Cascadden was designated as the first Regional Traffic Citation Coordinator.  

1979 The Department began scheduling some administrative hearings for license 
reinstatement in the field offices.  

1979 In an effort to reduce long lines at the field offices, the examination requirements 
for licensees from other states, United States territories, and the Canadian 
provinces were reduced to tests of vision and road signs only.  

1979  Addition of the CDT entry permitted selective clearance of individual revocations 
or suspensions from local terminals.  

1980  Driver Licenses began changeover from TC-500 computer terminals to new 20/20 
terminals with separate processors, videos, and printers.  

1980  Addition of the CFN and CRT entries permitted employees to stop issuance of 
suspensions which had been cleared prior to the effective date and to make on-
line restriction changes in the driver records.  

1980  Five road test failures resulted in suspension of the privilege to apply for a 



license.  

1980  Statutes were amended to require a $25.00 service fee for reinstatement 
following suspension for failure to comply with court requirements. No 
examination required.  

1980  Field Offices began daily reporting of bank deposits by computer terminal 
message to the revenue section in Tallahassee.  

1980  The influx of Cuban and Haitian refugees added almost a quarter of a million to 
the population of the state.  

1980  Study -- Dade County Workload (Office of the Governor)  

1980  An emergency proclamation by the Governor established one driver license 
office (Miami Central) for processing of refugee applicants for driver licenses.  

1980  Began postdating suspensions for failure to comply with court requirements.  

1980  All field driver license employees were placed on the 4 day, 40 hour workweek. 
The basic workweek was from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m., Tuesday through Friday. This 
soon eliminated almost all the public complaints about inconvenient hours for 
service.  

1980  Study -- Evaluation of Florida's Reexamination Program (Applied Science 
Associates).  

1981  Study -- Applicant Waiting Time (OHSMV Task Force).  

1981  Study -- Automated Testing (MGT of America). 

1981  Statutes were amended to provide for Safe Driver renewals for licensees who had 
maintained conviction-free records for the 3 years immediately preceding 
renewal. The examination for renewal consisted of a vision test only. Drivers who 
did not qualify for a Safe Driver renewal continued to take the vision test and the 
road signs test.  

1981  The Department began issuance of Valid in Florida Only licenses to persons who 
retained out-of-state licenses due to their part time residence or employment in 
the other state.  

1981  The Department began requiring letters of clearance from other states prior to 
issuance of a Florida license if the applicant did not present a valid out-of-state 
license. This was discontinued due to the number of states who refused to 
cooperate.  

1982  Study -- Field Office Needs (Management and Planning).  

1982  Study -- Rapid Retrieval of Photos from DL Negative Film File (Management and 
Planning).  

1982  Study -- Uniform Traffic Citation Program (National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration and American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators).  

1982  Study -- Need for Parallel Parking on Road Tests (Management and Planning). 



1982  Study -- Overview of the Financial Responsibility Program (House Transportation 
Committee).  

1982  Study -- License Extensions (Management and Planning).  

1982  Study -- Management Assessment (Interagency Task Force).  

1982  Study -- Survey of Field Problems (Management and Planning).  

1982  Implemented a new DWI law with more severe penalties.  

1982 Initiated a pilot program of providing appointments on an optional basis for 
driver license renewals in Orange County. The pilot program was later expanded 
to include Alachua, Broward, and Dade Counties.  

1982 Statutes were amended to provide that Restricted Operator licenses could not be 

renewed. 

1982 Statutes were amended to provide that failure to surrender a revoked or 

suspended license would extend the revocation or suspension for a period of 

time equal to the original revocation or suspension from the date the license was 
actually surrendered or a "lost license" affidavit was signed. If the unsurrendered 

license expired, the license could not be renewed for a period equal to the time of 

the revocation or suspension.  

1983 Study -- Need for Accountability of Renewal Notice Forms (Management and 
Planning).  

1983  Study -- Uniform Traffic Citations Program (Management and Planning).  

1983  Study -- Legislative Oversight (House Governmental Operations Committee).  

1983 Initiated a pilot program of providing appointments on an optional basis for all 
types of driver licensing services in Duval County.  

1983  Began giving road tests in inclement weather at the option of the applicant.  

1983  Organ donor information was included on the driver license.  

1983  DL Supervisors required to check-ride examiners on road tests at least once per 
quarter.  

1983  Began the first phase of the motorcycle license program. During the first year, 
persons holding valid Florida driver licenses could obtain authorization to 
operate motorcycles without examination.  

1983  Implemented a statewide optional appointment system for all types of driver 
license services.  

1983  Express renewal offices were made full-service facilities.  

1983  Began the fraud detection program.  

1983  A minimum of two forms of ID required for DL applicants.  



1983 J. W. McInnis was appointed as the first Program Planning Coordinator for the 
Division of Driver Licenses.  

1983  In FY1982-83, Florida had a population of 10,510,560 and 8,598,019 licensed 
drivers.  549 examiners processed a total of 3,732,719 applicants.  

1984 In July, Leonard R. Mellon was appointed Executive Director of the Department 
of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

1984  Study -- Uniform Traffic Citation Work load (Management and Planning). 

1984  Study -- Micrographics Consolidation (Management and Planning).  

1984 Study – Management Analysis of the Bureau of Financial Responsibility 
(Management and Planning).  

1984  Study -- Driver License Issuance System (Applied Science Associates).  

1984  Study -- Driver License Applicant Processing System (DHSMV Task Force).  

1984  Study -- Driver License Applicant Processing System (Private Sector Task Force).  

1984 Motorcycle endorsement fee waived for 100% disabled veterans who present 
proper documentation of disability.  

1984 Statutes amended to permit licensees to operate motorcycle without motorcycle 
endorsement until expiration of current license if the license was issued prior to 
October 1, 1984.  

 
1984 Statutes amended to designate fraudulent application for a driver license or ID 

card as a felony.  

1984  Failure to comply with court requirements for a criminal traffic offense resulted 
in suspension of the offender's driver license.  

1984  Statutes amended to permit sending license revocation and suspension orders 
by first class mail instead of certified.  

1984  Field driver license offices experienced long lines and excessive applicant waiting 
times. Cases of applicants waiting up to 8-1/2 hours were documented. Waits of 5 
hours or more were common in many areas.  

1984  Four Dade County offices were designated as express offices to process renewals, 
duplicates, and replacements.  

1984  Employees were assigned to the exclusive duty of working the walk-in lines of 
applicants without appointments.  

1984  Routine personal service of license revocation/suspension orders discontinued 
and the Investigators were temporarily assigned to conduct examinations one 
day each week.  

1984  Road tests for reinstatement applicants were eliminated except in cases of 
questionable ability.  



1984  Hearing Officers were instructed to handle financial responsibility cases and 
otherwise assist in the examining offices when no hearings were scheduled or if 
scheduled hearing applicants failed to appear.  

1984  The appointment system was modified to provide appointments for renewals, 
duplicates, and replacements only.  

1984  The practice of filling out organ donor registration cards for potential organ 
donors was discontinued. Completion of the registration cards became an 
applicant responsibility.  

1984  Supervisory responsibility for scheduling and monitoring employee work breaks 
was emphasized.  

1984  Reports and other administrative responsibilities were reduced or eliminated 
wherever possible.  

1984  Increased reliance upon driver license records for applicant identification to 
avoid, if possible, requiring an applicant to leave the office and return with 
additional documents of identification.  

1984  Employees were encouraged to submit suggestions for saving time or improving 
operations direct to the Division Planning Coordinator without the necessity of 
going through the supervisory chain of command.  

1984  Temporary overtime was authorized in a few offices with critical work load 
problems.  

1984  Designated 2 Broward County offices as express facilities to process renewals, 
duplicates, and replacements.  

1984  Preliminary work was begun on utilization of high school driver education 
instructors to administer driver license examinations.  

1984  Utilized volunteers from the FHP Auxiliary to assist in the examining offices.  

1984 The 6 express offices in Dade and Broward Counties were placed on a schedule 
of 7 a.m. until 6 p.m., Monday through Thursday.  

1984 Began administering complete examinations to persons who applied for 
authorization to operate motorcycles.  

1984 The 6 express offices in Dade and Broward Counties were placed on a 
Wednesday through Saturday schedule.  

1984 34 full-service offices in 15 counties were placed on a schedule of 7 a.m. until 6 
p.m., Monday through Friday. The employees continued to work a 4 day, 40 hour 
workweek, but the offices operated 5 days, 55 hours per week. This was done with 
no increase in staff to increase convenience for the public.  

1984  The Uniform Traffic Ticket section was upgraded to bureau status as the Bureau of 
Uniform Traffic Citations, headed by Mable P. Williams.  

1984  In FY 1983-84, Florida had a population of 10,741,370 and 8,987,493 licensed 
drivers. 557 examiners processed a total of 4,195,540 applicants.  



1985  Study -- Performance Audi t (Auditor General).  

1985  Study -- Update of the Examiner Workload System (MGT of America).  

1985 Began requiring the complete examination, including a road test, for applicants 
who hold out-of-state licenses. In the first year of the program 465,439 out-of-state 
applicants were processed. 76% passed and 24% failed.  

1985 78 additional examiners were hired to bring 28 of the 5 day offices back up to the 
staffing level they had prior to expanding the schedule from 4 to 5 days per week. 
The remaining 5 day offices reverted to a 4 days per week schedule until 
additional examiners can be obtained.  

1985 Began issuing 6 year licenses to originals and Safe Driver renewals that elect to 
renew in a driver license office. In the first 7 months, 812,845 or 66% of the 
licenses issued were 6 year licenses and 416,574 or 34% were 4 year licenses. 
These totals exclude duplicates and replacements.  

1985 The examination fee was eliminated. License fees were set at $15.00, regardless of 
type or term of the license. The fees were collected at the time of license issuance.  

1985 Began providing an optional 4 year license extension by mail without examination 
for Safe Drivers. In the first 3 months of the program, 394,503 Safe Driver renewal 
notices were mailed and 92,915 (24%) elected to obtain the license extension.  

1985 All of the field supervisors and most of the headquarters supervisors received 40 
hours of training in management and effective leadership concepts and 
techniques.  

1985 2 Express Renewal facilities for renewal applicants with their renewal cards were 
opened in Eckerd drug stores in Pinellas County. The Eckerd Corporation provided 
the office space at no cost to the State. The offices are open Monday through 
Saturday from 9:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. The 2 offices are staffed by 3 examiners. 
5,240 people renewed in the Eckerd facilities in the first 4 months (September 
through December) for a combined average of 55 per day.  

1985 43 public school districts participate in the Driver Education Licensing Assistance 
Program (DELAP) whereby certified driver education instructors certify the 
qualifications of their students for license issuance.  

1985 A Senior Management Assistance and Relief Team (SMART), was established. The 
team, which is made up senior managers in the Division of Driver Licenses, works 
one full day per month in one of the 5 bureaus in the division, performing front-line 
work such as road testing, coding, screening, working error listings, etc., to gain 
first-hand knowledge of the overall division operations. Each member of the team 
submits findings and recommendations for improvement to the Division Director.  

1985  Renewal offices in Dade and Broward Counties were authorized to process all 
driver license transactions except road tests in an effort to increase the applicant 
volume, especially on Saturdays.  

1985  Implemented a program to recruit volunteer workers to assist in the driver license 
offices.  Volunteers are authorized to perform all duties in the office except actual 
examining functions.  



1985  Leonard L. Melton was appointed as the first Management Review Specialist in the 
Division of Driver Licenses.  

1985  In FY1984-85, Florida had a population of 11,152,400 and 9,630,975 licensed 
drivers. 676 examiners processed a total of 4,616,517 applicants.  

1986  Study ... Applicant Waiting Time (Auditor General).  

1986  Began pilot program of centralized appointment scheduling in Duval County.  

1986  Mandatory seat belt law enacted. Florida became the 26th state to enact such 
legislation. 

  
1986  Florida received the Nationa1 Council award for its driver improvement programs. 

The award, which was presented by Chuck Gilchrist of the National Safety Council, 
was accepted by the Governor and Cabinet for the Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles.  

1986  The Executive Director approved reorganization of the field structure to 
administratively divide the state into 17 new regions instead of the previous 13 
districts and 4 regions. The former District Supervisors were upgraded to Regional 
Administrator and the former District Clerk Typists were upgraded to Secretary 
Specialist. Regional Administrators were assigned full field responsibility for their 
regions, reporting direct to an Assistant Chief in Tallahassee. A Driver License 
Specialist was approved for each of the new regions to serve as local subject 
matter expert, handle new employee and refresher training, and to perform many 
of the administrative functions which keep a supervisor from supervising.  

1986  Florida's program of establishing express renewal offices in private business 
establishments was recognized as one of the 25 most innovative programs in the 
nation by the Harvard Business School and the Ford Foundation.  

1986  The Executive Director approved reorganization of the Bureau of Driver 
Improvement. All field driver improvement functions were transferred to the 
Bureau of Driver Improvement from the Bureau of Field Operations. The state was 
administratively divided into four regions and Charlotte Spivey, Jan Ross, Richard 
Hatcher, and Vincent Panzica were named the first Driver Improvement Regional 
Administrators to oversee a field staff of 113 employees in 23 offices.  

1986  Deborah S. Berlinger was named the first Training Manager for the Division of 
Driver Licenses with division-wide responsibility for employee training.  

1986  An early warning system was developed to spot early growth trends in Florida. 
This system, known as the "Growth Alert Index", combines the number of out-of-
state driver license applicants with the number of out-of-state motor vehicle 
registration transfers in each county.  The merged figures provide an indicator of 
growth patterns and is believed to be the fastest statistical tool available for this 
purpose.  

1986  In FY 1985-86, Florida had a population of 11,465,000 and 9,924,110 licensed 
drivers. 787 examiners processed a total of 4,672,758 applicants. 

1987 James H. Cox appointed Director, Division of Driver Licenses  

1988 May 4, 1988 the first FLOWmobile, V01, was delivered to Tallahassee 



1988 Began requiring proof of PIP insurance before a vehicle could be used on a road 
test. 

1988 Refee for PIP suspensions increased from $15.00 to $150.00, $250.00 or $500.00. 

1988 On October 27, 1988, we discontinued our policy of selling driver handbooks.  
After that date, they were provided free of charge to any request, conditioned 
only on supply availability. 

1988 A Social Security Number was required for the issuance of an identification card. 

1989 All Florida driving records we changed to contain a 13 digit driver license number, 
rescinding the display of 15 digit license numbers that previously used. 

1989 We began using nine digit case numbers for all Financial Responsibility cases.  The 
first number indicated the type of FR case involved: 

• 1 – Accident Case 

• 2 – PIP Accident 

• 3 – Judgment Liability Case 

• 4 – Conviction Liability Case 

• 5 – Point Suspension Liability Case 

• 6 – HTO Liability Case 

• 7 – PIP Cancellation 

1989  Began using I-688 and I-689 immigrations forms as acceptable identification. 

1989  The department began charging a $105.00 administrative fee for each incident 
leading to an alcohol related suspension or revocation.  $25.00 was charges for 
each (non-D6) suspension listed on record, and $50.00 for each revocation listed 
on a driver record. 

1989 By presentation of a marriage certificate only, both men and women may change 
their names to any combination of names, hyphenated or non-hyphenated shown 
on the marriage certificate. 

1989 Drivers of commercial motor vehicles in Florida could not possess more than one 
driver license.  This eliminated CDL drivers from having Valid in Florida Only 
licenses. 

1989 Examiners were allowed to have one pair of their uniform pants cut off, and 
hemmed, without cuff, to a length not more than one inch above the knee as an 
approved uniform option.  These had to be worn with black over the calf or knee 
high socks. 

1989 PIP law was amended to require that all new or renewed policies had to include 
property damage liability as well as personal injury protection. 

1989 Anyone under 18 years of age applying for a license was required to show proof of 
enrollment in school.  Sanctions were issued if students failed to meet school 
attendance requirements. 

1989 Commercial Driver License Manuals were issued to all examining personnel 



1990 Any person applying for a Florida license who could not prove that they were 
licensed in any other state or jurisdiction are required to complete a substance 
abuse education course to be eligible for a Florida license. 

1990 New Optec 1000 Eye Machines were distributed to all field offices. 

1990 Written testing began for the issuance of Commercial Driver Licenses 

1990 Straight in parking replace parallel parking on the driving skills tests 

1990 Credit Card acceptance was piloted in driver license offices and it was initially 
planned to be implemented statewide.  However, problems with equipment and 
concerns over credit card fees prevented the program from being implemented. 

1990 New administrative suspension laws take effect.  Formal and informal hearings 
are conduct by Driver Improvement Hearing Officers. 

1991 Began waiving test requirements when the customer presented a valid out of 
state license of the same class or higher as the one being issued by Florida.  The 
only exception was for motorcycle endorsements issued in Alabama, Idaho and 
West Virginia. 

1991 Class “D” licenses were required to operate emergency or farm vehicles that were 
otherwise exempt from CDL laws. 

1991 Began issuing no fee duplicate licenses when the post office or local government 
changed the customer’s mailing address. 

1991 Began requiring Social Security number for issuance of all licenses if the customer 
had ever been issued a number. 

1991 First Commercial Driver Licenses were issued on April 2, 1991.  All licenses were 
now either Class A, B, C, D, or E.  Restricted operator and chauffer licenses were no 
longer issued. 

1991 Began administering extended road tests when recommended by the Medical 
Advisory Board. 

1992 Began issuing Motorcycle permits for 60 days as opposed to the previous 90 day 
permit. 

1992 Extended road tests were discontinued after a legal opinion was issued stating 
that the practice violated the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

1992 Leonard R. Mellon, Executive Director, died on February 10, 1992 

1992 Fred O. Dickinson appointed Executive Director 

1992 The Legislature failed to adopt the 1992-93 budget before July 1, 1992, and 
members were asked to volunteer to work without a guarantee of being paid.  185 
members out of 1119 did not work, and 23 out of 171 offices were closed due to a 
lack of staffing.  The Governor signed the budget during the day and operations 
returned to normal. 

1992 Joe McCaskill selected as Deputy Executive Director. 

1992 Hurricane Andrew 

1992 Effective October 1, the Clean Air Act prohibited smoking in all public buildings. 



1993 Began reciprocating motorcycle endorsements from West Virginia 

1993 CDL Grandfathering provisions expired on March 31, 1993. 

1993 Authorization was received to use an interpreter to ride in the vehicle on a road 
test in order to accommodate any language barrier. 

1993 Written exams were made available in Haitian Creole 

1993 Federal Vision Waiver Program for Commercial Driver Licenses ended 

1994 James H. Cox resigned as Director of the Division of Driver License effective at the 
close of business on January 31, 1994 

 

1994 Glenn Blocker appointed Interim Director of the Division of Driver Licenses. 

1994 Unlawful Blood Alcohol Level was lowered from .10 to .08. 

1994 New Examiner’s Manual were printed and distributed. 

1994 The practice of disallowing annual leave during a member’s probationary period 
was rescinded. 

1994 After July 1, 1994, Driver Improvement began authorizing reinstatements 
restricted to “Educational Purposes Only.” 

1994 Motor Voter program begins – examiners begin processing applications for voter 
registration (FS 97.051). 

1994 Training was conducted and procedures implemented to begin using the Problem 
Driver Pointer System (PDPS) function on the National Driver Registry (NDR). 

1995 Began reciprocating motorcycle endorsements from Idaho 

1995 Sanction imposed for Child Support delinquency (FS 322.058). 

1995 Voluntary contribution were added to the driver license application process for six 
organizations:  Organ Donor Education Program, Election Campaign Financing 
Trust Fund, Council of the Blind, Juvenile’s Diabetes Foundation International, 
Hearing Research Institute Incorporated, and Prevent Blindness (FS 322.08 and 
322.18). 

1995 Sandra C. Lambert appointed Director of the Division of Driver Licenses – first 
female Director of the Division 

1995 Office closures and layoffs due to budget reductions.  24 Driver Licenses offices 
closed and 167 positions were eliminated by the Legislature. 

1995 Began issuing digitalized driver licenses on credit card stock with magnetic 
stripes 

1995 Mail in address change went into effect. 

1995 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 11,992,578 

1996 Completed closing the Express Renewal Offices located in Eckerd Drug Stores. 



1996 Sanctions imposed for tobacco use by minors (FS 322.056) 

1996 Sanctions imposed for high risk drivers (minors) (FS 322.161). 

1996 Customers under 18 years of age were required to hold their Learner’s License for 
six months before being eligible to take their driving test. 

1996 First Tax Collector Licensing Agent begins issuing licenses in Sarasota County on 
August 1 

1996 Florida Statute 318.15 is amended to stipulate that D-6 suspensions from Florida 
or any other jurisdiction shall not appear on the record after seven years from the 
effective date. 

1996 The Bureau of Driver Improvement was reorganized to include the Bureau of 
Administrative Reviews and the Bureau of Driver Educations and DUI Programs. 

1996 The Bureau of Field Operations was restructured into 12 Regions divided into 
three Bureaus; Bureaus of Field Operations North, Central, and South with three 
Bureau Chiefs. 

1996 Pilot program began allowing issuance of identification cards to persons under 12 
years of age. 

1996 Began limited Saturday operations in large metropolitan areas 

1996 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 11,969,231 

1997 Reorganization of the Bureau of Field Operations is completed. 

1997 The Department began providing phone in renewal services 

1997 Zero Tolerance Law goes into effect for persons under 21 – sanction imposed (FS 
322.2616). 

1997 Examiners must obtain proof of completion of Traffic Law Substance Abuse 
Education Program (TLSAE) prior to the issuance of a first time driver license (FS 
322.095). 

1997 Examiners required to add Sexual Predator and/or Sexual Offender designation to 
driver records after review of the proper documentation.  Sexual 
Predator/Offender is required to report to a driver license field office within 24 
hours of an address change (FS 775.21 and 943.035) 

1997 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 12,343,598.  6,000,652 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 9.8 minutes. 

1997 Uniforms were changed to improve the customer focused environment.  Uniform 
brass and badges were eliminated. 

1997 Telephone renewals and address changes went into effect. 

1998 Sanctions imposed under the School Dropout Law (FS 322.091). 

1998 Sanctions imposed for passing worthless checks (FS 832.05) 

1998 FDLIS is updated to allow both the mailing and residence address of the customer 
to be entered. 



1998 County Court Clerks were supplied with a list of county residents for jury pool 
selection.  Statutes were amended to allow for quarterly reporting. 

1998 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 12,691,835.  5,688,759 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 10 minutes. 

1999 Sanctions imposed for unlawful activity involving controlled substances (Ch. 893). 

1999 First Mini-FLOW went into operation. 

1999 The first of two “Superstore” locations opened combining driver licenses and 
motor vehicle services. 

1999  Florida became a legal presence State. (See Ch. Law 99-248, Sec s 73 & 74.)  

 

1999 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 13,012,132.  6,107,381 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 11 minutes. 

2000 Sanctions imposed for petit gas theft (FS 812.061) 

2000 Examiners must obtain certification of at least 50 hours of driving experience prior 
to issuance of a Class E license to a minor (FS 322.05).  The Learner’s License must 
be held for one year, with no traffic violations, before persons under 18 years of 
age are eligible for their driving test (FS 322.05).  (Graduated Licensing program 
for minors) 

2000 All front seat passengers 18 years of age or older must be restrained by a safety 
belt.  It is the responsibility of the driver to insure that any passenger under age 18 
is restrained by a safety belt or by a child restraint devise (FS 316.614). 

2000 Open container law becomes effective for operators and passengers of motor 
vehicles (FS 316.193). 

2000 Any person over 21 years of age may operate or ride a motorcycle without a 
helmet if they are covered by a medical insurance policy of $10,000 or more (FS 
316.211). 

2000 The Hearing Research Institute and Juvenile Diabetes were added to the 
voluntary contributions (FS 322.08). 

2000 Florida Statutes were amended to require that unless a driver license or 
identification record were already established, proof of identity must include one 
of the following:  certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, alien 
registration card or employment authorization card issued by the U.S. 
Department of Justice (FS 322.051 & 322.08). 

2000 DUI sanctions were strengthened to include the impoundment of the vehicles 
owned by the convicted defendant for a second conviction within five years (FS 
316.193). 

2000 Decertification of CDL third party testers resulted in the retesting of 1,200 CDL 
licensed drivers. 

2000 Internet renewal and address changes went into effect. 

2000 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 13,398,895.  7,121,806 transactions 



were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 6.5 minutes. 

2001 DUI laws were revised to state that if a second offense occurs within five years of 
first conviction, the revocation will be for five years; if a third DUI offense occurs 
with 10 years after a prior conviction, then the revocation will be for 10 years (FS 
322.28). 

2001 Examiners must obtain Selective Service Registration information from all males 
under age 26 making application for a driver license or identification card.  The 
information is electronically sent to the Federal Selective Service System (FS 
322.0515). 

2001 New Automated Driver License Testing Systems (ADLTS) installed in all field 
offices. 

2001 Sanctions imposed for retail and farm theft (FS 812.16 and 322.274). 

2001 Sanctions were imposed for failure to pay child support (FS 322.058) 

2001 Managers and examiners receive training on legal documentation required to 
prove legal presence in the U.S. 

2001 Specific offices throughout the state were designated to process foreign 
nationals.  Later all office began processing foreign nationals.  Offices began 
scanning documents presented by foreign nationals.  Scanning was later 
expanded to include most documents presented by the customers. 

2001 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 14,041,846.  6,669,476 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 10 minutes. 

2002 On January 21, field offices were provided with a list of 20 states whose license 
could only be accepted as secondary identification. 

2002 Examiners are required to add Career Criminal designation to the driving record 
after review of the proper documentation.  Career Criminals are required to report 
to a driver license field office in person within 48 hours of an address change (FS 
775.261). 

2002 Sanction imposed for theft of motor vehicle parts or components (FS 812.16 and 
322.274). 

2002 Sanction imposed for racing on public traffic way (FS 316.191) 

2002 Sanction imposed for the unlawful conveyance of fuel (FS 316.80). 

2002 Examiners learn the requirements and begin issuing temporary permits to all 
immigrants and non-immigrants applying for renewal or original identification 
cards or driver licenses.  Identification cards and driver licenses, for these 
customers, are generated through a central issuance (CIPs) and mailed to the 
customer after legal presence is verified The expiration date on the license 
coincided with their legal authorization. (FS 322.05 and 322.07).   (See Ch. Law 02-
259.)  

 2002 Sanctions imposed for improper loads on vehicles (FS 316.52). 

2002 Sanctions imposed for graffiti (FS 806.13). 

2002 Any person who sells, manufactures or delivers a fraudulent driver license or 



identification card commits a felony of the third degree (FS 322.212). 

2002 New Examiner’s Manual posted on the Intranet 

2002 Document Validation Unit was created in the Bureau of Records to verify 
documents submitted on driver license applications as well as assisting offices 
with questions regarding documents. 

2002  Driver records were populated with citizen information based on the data held by 
the department from their previous applications on file. If the applicant indicated 
they were a citizen, the record was populated as such. If not, the record was left 
blank thereby requiring a visit to the office upon the next renewal. Drivers 
showing citizens were allowed to use convenience renewal if otherwise eligible.  

2002 Effective November 1, 2002, field offices began opening at 7:30 a.m. instead of 
7:00 a.m. to allow for morning staff meetings. 

2002 Training and implementation of the People First System begins. 

2002 Retested 5,000 CDL license holders due to fraudulent third party CDL testing, 

2002 Began producing additional state agency identification cards for the Department 
of Education 

2002 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 14,346,373.  6,188,964 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 16 minutes. 

2003 Security Cameras are installed in all field offices 

2003 Ignition Interlock program begins (FS 316.193). 

2003 Governor Bush’s Service First Initiative is implemented changing many of the 
rules governing Career Service.  Members in management or in jobs dealing with 
confidential materials were moved to Select Exempt status. 

2003 All printed paper tests in supply were destroyed.  Only paper tests printed off the 
Automated Driver License Testing System (ADLTS) could be used.  

2003 Examiners are required to capture the state and country of birth on all customers’ 
applications (FS 322.08). 

2003 Examiners capture Alien registration number for immigrants and admission 
numbers for non-immigrants on the customer’s application. 

2003 The fee for renewal or replacement ID cards increased to $10 (FS 322.051). 

2003 Customers failing the written exam for a license are required to pay a $5 fee to re-
take the exam.  Those customers failing the driving exam are charge $10 to re-test 
(FS 322.12). 

2003 Reinstatement fees for suspensions are raised to $35, and for revocations to $60.  
The administrative fee for alcohol related offenses is raised to $115 (FS 322.21). 

2003 Amber Alert System is implemented 

2003 Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) required examiners to indicate on the driver 
license of identification record whether or not the customer wants to keep their 
personal information blocked. 



2003 Examiners participated in a pilot project to verify addresses through a central 
database.   Pilot ended and did not proceed with statewide implementation. 

2003 Decertification of third party commercial truck driver testing company resulted in 
the retesting of 5,000 CDL holders. 

2003 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 13,604,720.  6,555,695 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 23 minutes. 

2004 The Department contracts with a vendor to allow advertising in the driver license 
handbooks to offset production costs and increase availability. 

2004 All drivers 80 years of age and older must appear in offices to submit to a vision 
test or submit a medical vision report (FS 322.195). 

2004 The first annual Sight Saver Campaign was held in January, 2004. 

2004 Paperless waiver system is implemented utilizing a web based system where third 
party testers enter applicant’s test results online. 

2004 Florida Driver License Issuance System – FDLIS Express was rolled out during 
2004. 

2004 During June, new style licenses began to be issued through Central Issuance for 
customers using convenience services and foreign nationals.  The new licenses 
featured many security features in a move to become compliant with the Federal 
Real ID Act. 

2004 Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) (FS 119.07). 

2004 Sanctions imposed for fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer 
(FS 316.1935). 

2004 Sanctions imposed for unpaid financial obligations (FS 322.245).  

2004 Hurricanes Charley, Francis, Ivan and Jeanne impact operations throughout the 
state of Florida. 

2004 The People First system went live to all members in October.  The system is 
utilized for many personnel functions such as timesheets, updating member 
information, and benefits enrollment. 

2004 Members received a one time $1000 bonus as approved by the Legislature in lieu 
of any pay increases. 

2004 Retested 2,000 CDL holders due to fraudulent third party CDL testing. 

2004 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 14,847,416.  7,471,641 transactions 
were completed in the field offices with an average waiting time of 36 minutes. 

2005 Training and implementation of the Online Appointment Services and 
Information System (OASIS) begins.   

2005 The Department began fingerprinting all new examiners during their first month 
of employment.  Later, all members in positions of “special trust” were 
fingerprinted – this included all examining personnel. 

2005 On April 11, the Division of Driver License, Bureau of Field Operations Help Desk 
became operational. 



2005 On April 12, the Department fully implemented their online Driver Improvement 
Course Completion Certificates. 

2005 Drivers with two convictions for failing to stop at a traffic signal with 12 moths are 
required to attend a driver improvement course in order to maintain their driving 
privileges (FS 322.261). 

2005 Class “D” licenses were eliminated (FS 316.1936).  The “E” and “F” endorsements 
were also eliminated. 

2005 Tax Collector Agents were authorized to retain the entire $5.25 service fee 
collected on driver license issuance (FS 322.135). 

2005 Examiners learn compliance requirements and fingerprint all CDL drivers with 
Hazmat endorsements (49 CFR, 1572.11 Federal Regulations).  CDL licenses with 
hazardous materials endorsements may only be obtained for four years (FS 
322.18). 

2005 Identification Authentication (IA) scanners installed in the field offices. 

2005 Training and implementation of procedures for issuance of school bus, “S” 
endorsed CDL licenses.  Over 20,000 school bus drivers required retesting and 
new license issuance. 

2005 A voluntary contribution for Children’s Hearing Help Fund was created (FS 
322.08). 

2005 Seven Specialty Teams consisting of a manager and nine examiners were 
deployed throughout the state.  These teams provided support for offices with 
staffing shortages and assisted with special projects and events. 

2005 Special procedures were implemented to assist evacuees from Hurricane Katrina 
in acquiring identification while displaced in Florida.  

2005 Internet services were expanded to include ID card and driver license renewals; 
address changes for ID cards and driver licenses; duplicate ID cards and driver 
licenses; and original ID cards if the customer had a Florida driver license with a 
digital image on file. 

2005 Examiners are required to complete a Commercial Driver License Information 
Check (CDLIS) for every customer who presents an out of state driver license prior 
to issuance of a Florida license. 

2005 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 15,007,005, with an estimated 
population of 17,702,476. 

2006 The Department approved an online Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) School. 

2006 Customers applying for a Florida ID card or driver license are able to complete a 
web based pre-application online.  The information on the pre-application is 
electronically transferred to FDLIS to help reduce customer processing time. 

2006 Procedures to reinstate driving privileges and issue license through central 
issuance were implemented in Bureau of Administrative Review offices 
throughout Florida. 

2006 Piloted and implemented the Motorcycle Third Party Tester Paperless Waiver 
System 



2006 Sanctions were added for violations of s. 817.234 and 817.505 (insurance fraud) 
requiring mandatory revocation and an additional fee of $180 for reinstatement 
(FS 322.21 and 322.26). 

2006 The minimum age for an identification card is lowered to age five (FS 322.051).  On 
October 1, 2006 the first 5-year old received a Florida Identification Card – Allison 
Michelle Fenandez. 

2006 The court may order sanctions for any person who sells, gives or serves alcoholic 
beverages to a minor (FS 562.11). 

2006 Paper Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) waiver forms were 
discontinued and only waivers electronically posted through the Paperless Waiver 
System were accepted. 

2006 The Division implemented a new website, STARNet (Staff Training and Research) 
to assist with training and information needs for field offices. 

2006 Effective October 1, the department began providing a service that allows 
customers that holds a valid license or ID card to provide emergency contact 
information via the agency website. 

2006 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 15,272,680, with an estimated 
population of 18,019,093.  7,325,092 transactions were completed in the field 
offices. 

2007 The Department was required to make driving records of teens available to 
parents or guardians of the minor via the internet, free of charge (FS 322.20).  

2007 Each motorcycle registered to a person under 21 years of age must display a 

license plate that is unique in design and color (FS 316.211). 

 
2007 All driver license and identification cards issued to individuals with non-immigrant residency 

status displayed the word TEMPORARY in red on the bottom right of the card, as required by 

2006 House Bill 7079. 
 

2007 Parental Proctoring -- applicants seeking a Class E Learner’s License on the basis of on-line 

tests must have a parent or legal guardian observe and attest to them passing those tests 

without assistance. 
 

2007 Electra Theodorides-Bustle is appointed Executive Director of the Department of Highway 

Safety and Motor Vehicles on March 7.  

 

2007 On May 14, Driver License field issuance offices all became five-day offices, operating from 

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., on 
Tuesday and Thursday.   Saturday services remained in effect in several large metropolitan 

areas throughout the state.  Issuance office members were issued red shirts to wear on 

Mondays.  

 



2007 All Department personnel were assigned e-mail accounts to enhance communications efforts.   

  

2007 All driver licenses and ID cards must designate on the face of the document if the 

holder of the card has been designated a sexual predator or offender (FS 322.141). 

2007 The $1.50 service fee for permanent handicapped placards was removed from 
statute 

2007 The Division of Driver Licenses is reorganized with three Deputy Directors 
appointed and the Bureau of Field Operations renamed to Bureau of Field 
Services and increased from three bureaus to five. 

2007 Effective October 1, the Florida PIP (Personal Injury Protection) Insurance law 
sunset.  The law was later re-enacted effective January 1, 2008. 

 
2007 In lieu of a pay increase, the 2007 Legislature approved a $1,000 bonus for eligible full-

time Career Service, Selected Exempt Service, and Senior Management Service employees 

($500 for half-time employees).  Eligible employees were those who had been continuously 

employed by the State between July 1, 2007 and November 1, 2007, and were achieving 
performance standards. The bonus was paid on Wednesday, November 7, 2007.  

 

2007 A Handbook Inventory Tracking System (HITS) is implemented to help ensure that driver 
license handbooks are available to customers throughout the state. 

 

2007 Changes in the Financial Responsibility Law require increased liability coverage limits for 

persons convicted of alcohol related offenses (FS 324.023). 

 

2007 New Mission, Vision and Values statements, and a Strategic Plan are developed for the 

Department of Highway Safety 
 

2007 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 15,491,878, with an estimated 

population of 18,199,526. 7,259,225 transactions were completed in the field 
offices.  

2008 Statutes were amended to allow customers to choose two year vehicle or vessel 
registration. 

2008 The Sunset Review Committee and Legislature confirmed that the Department of 
Highway Safety needed to continue as a state agency.  The bill confirming this 
was later vetoed by the Governor and the review had to be re-confirmed during 
the 2009 Legislative session. 

2008 Driver License Field and BAR offices began accepting Master Card, Discover and 
American Express. 

2008 As part of our budget reduction due to revenue shortfalls, the Legislature did not 
fund uniforms for Field Services and BAR members.  Those with uniforms could 
continue to wear them if they chose to do so, however, uniforms were no longer 



required. 

2008 Ten Field Services Offices were closed by July 1, 2008, and three additional by 
January 1, 2009, due to budget shortfalls – no layoffs occurred 

2008 Effective July 1, 2008 all applicants for a motorcycle endorsement must show 
proof of completion of the motorcycle safety course (FS 322.12). 

2008 Beginning September 1, all offices went to a Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. till 
5:00 p.m. schedule.  Select offices in Miami, Lauderdale Lakes, Jacksonville, Tampa, and 
Orlando continued to offer services on Saturdays from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. 

2008 A voluntary contribution for “Family First” is created and the election campaign 
contribution is eliminated. 

2008 The list of identifying documents that may be presented for an ID card or driver 
license is modified to require proof of social security number, proof of residential 
address, unexpired U.S. passport, unexpired green card, unexpired employment 
authorization cart, and report of birth abroad (FS 322.051 & 322.08). 

2008 Identification cards issued to persons 5 years of age to 14 years of age will be valid 
for four years; all other will be valid for eight years (FS 322.051). 

2008 The definition of duplicate and replacement licenses are combined, leaving only 
the word “replacement” (FS 322.17). 

2008 Drivers who are 79 years of age and under will be issued eight year licenses while 
drivers 80 and older will continue to receive six year licenses (FS 322.18). 

2008 Drivers may only use convenience renewal methods for every other renewal (FS 
322.18). 

2008 Fees were changed October 1, 2008: 

• CDL     $67 

• Original Class E   $27 

• Renewal Class E   $20 

• Original Motorcycle Only $27 

• Replacement License  $10 

• All ID Cards   $10 

• Endorsements   $ 7 

2008 Governor Charlie Crist today signed Executive Order 08-211 enacting Florida’s ‘Silver Alert,’ 
which allows the immediate broadcast of information to the public regarding missing elders 
with dementia or other cognitive impairment. 

2008 By December 31, 2008, the Division of Driver Licenses was operating 83 state 
facilities and 95 tax collector agent offices in 37 counties throughout the state of 
Florida. 

2008 The total of licensed drivers in Florida was 15,579,603, with an estimated 
population of 18,328,340.  7,199,457 transactions were completed in the field 
offices. 



2009 The Legislature held a special session in January to address budget shortfalls.  
The Division of Driver Licenses lost 11 positions and restrictions were placed on 
travel and other spending. 

2009 A project was initiated to merge the Division of Driver Licenses and the Division of 
Motor Vehicles into a single Division – the Division of Motorist Services. 

2009 Agreement reached to place driver license office inside AAA offices located in Ft. 
Myers, Sarasota, St. Petersburg, and Jacksonville.  The Ft. Myers location began 
issuing licenses on March 3, 2009, with St. Petersburg beginning on March 26, 
2009. 

2009 June 16, 2009, Governor Charlie Crist signs the bill re-enacting the Department of 
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles after the sunset review process.  The re-
enactment ceremony takes place at the Neil Kirkman Building. 

 

2009 September 1, 2009, fees for driver licenses, license plates and vehicle titles are 
increased.  The fee increases caused a major increase in customer traffic during 
the last week in August resulting in office volumes nearly 200% above normal and 
increased customer wait times. 

 

Fee Type 
Current 

Fee 
Amount 

New Fee 
Amount 

Year Last Changed 

DRIVER LICENSE FEES 

Original Class E $27.00 $48.00  
1989* does not 

include 6 to 8 year 
change  

Original/Renewal Commercial Driver License $67.00  $75.00  
1989* does not 

include 6 to 8 year 
change  

Original School Board Commercial Driver License $27.00  $48.00  
1989* does not 

include 6 to 8 year 
change  

Renewal Class E $20.00  $48.00  
1989* does not 

include 6 to 8 year 
change  

Renewal School Board Commercial Driver License $20.00  $48.00  
1989* does not 

include 6 to 8 year 
change  



Replacement license  $10.00  $25.00  
1990 

 
(ch. Law 90-132) 

Delinquent Fee $1.00  $15.00  
Oct-1991  

 
(ch. Law 91-243) 

Knowledge retest $5.00  $10.00  
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

Skill retest $10.00  $20.00  
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

Identification Cards (Original, Renewal & 
Replacement) 

$10.00 $25.00 
Oct-2008  

(ch. Law 08-176) 

Administrative Fee $115.00  $130.00  
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

D-6 Suspension - DHSMV $47.50  $60.00 
Jul-2005  

(ch. Law 2005-236) 

Disqualification $60.00  $75.00  
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

Revocations $60.00 $75.00 
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

Suspensions $35.00  $45.00  
Oct-2003  

(ch. Law 2003-410) 

Child Support Suspension $47.50  $60.00  
Jul-2005  

(ch. Law 2005-236) 

Tax Collector Service Fee $5.25  $6.25  
Jul-1996  

(ch. Law 1996-413) 

Filing Fee for hardship hearing -  $12.00 New Fee  

Filing Fee for Formal/Informal review -  $25.00  New Fee  

DUI program fee (assessed by the program) $12.00  $15.00  Prior to 1996  

Interlock Fee (assessed by the vendor) -  $12.00 New Fee 

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEES *  



License Taxes-motorcycles $10.00 $13.50  
Jul-1963  

(ch. Law 1963-528) 

License Taxes-moped $5.00  $6.75 
01/1979  

(ch. Law 1979-353) 

Antique motorcycle $10.00 $13.50 
Jul-1963  

(ch. Law 1963-528) 

Antique automobile $7.50  $10.25  
Jul-1967  

(ch. Law 1967-187) 

Automobiles (less than 2,500 pounds) $14.50  $19.50  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Automobiles (2,500-3,500 pounds) $22.50 $30.50  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds) $32.50  $44.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Trucks (less than 2,000 pounds) $14.50  $19.50  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Trucks -based on weight (2,000-3,000 pounds) $22.50  $30.50  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Trucks -based on weight (3,000-5,000 pounds) $32.50  $44.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Goat Truck $7.50  $10.25  
Jul-2001  

(ch. Law 2001-279) 

Antique Truck $7.50  $10.25  
Oct-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-244) 

Heavy Truck (5,001 -6,000 pounds) $45.00  $60.75  
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 

Heavy Truck (6,000-8,000 pounds) $65.00  $87.75 
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 

Heavy Truck (8,000-10,000 pounds) $76.00  $103.00  
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 



Heavy Truck (10,000-15,000 pounds) $87.00  $118.00  
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 

Heavy Truck (15,000-20,000 pounds) $131.00  $177.00  
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 

Heavy Truck (20,000-26,001 pounds) $186.00  $251.00  
Jul-1987  

(ch. Law 1987-198) 

Heavy Truck (26,001-35,000 pounds) $240.00  $324.00  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

Heavy Truck (35,000-44,000 pounds) $300.00  $405.00  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

Heavy Truck (44,000-55,000 pounds) $572.00  $773.00 
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Heavy Truck (55,000-62,000 pounds) $678.00  $916.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Heavy Truck (62,000-72,000 pounds) $800.00  $1,080.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Heavy Truck (72,000 or more pounds) $979.00  $1,322.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-3) 

Heavy Truck/Tractor 150 mile radius $240.00  $324.00  
Jul-1990  

(ch. Law 1990-194) 

Heavy Truck/Tractor (Agriculture 150 miles) $65.00 $87.75  
Jul-1990  

(ch. Law 1990-194) 

Heavy Truck/Tractor $240.00  $324.00  
Jul-1982  

(ch. Law 1982-97) 

Semitrailers; School Buses; Special Purpose $10.00  $13.50  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Semitrailers; School Buses; Special Purpose $50.00  $68.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Special Purpose Vehicles $32.50  $44.00 
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

School Buses $30.00  $41.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 



Wrecker $30.00  $41.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (10,000-15,000 pounds) $87.00  $118.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (15,000-20,000 pounds) $131.00  $177.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (20,000-26,000 pounds) $186.00 $251.00 
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (26,000-35,000 pounds) $240.00  $324.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (35,000-44,000 pounds) $300.00  $405.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (44,000-55,000 pounds) $572.00  $772.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (55,000-62,000 pounds) $678.00  $915.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (62,000-72,000 pounds) $800.00  $1,080.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Other Wreckers (72,000 or more pounds) $979.00  $1,322.00  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Hearse or ambulance $30.00  $40.50  
Jul-1997  

(ch. Law 1997-58) 

Motor vehicles for hire (under 9 passengers) $12.50  $17  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $1.00  $1.50  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

Motor vehicles for hire (over 9 passengers) $12.50  $17  
Jul-1981  

(ch. Law 1981-209) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $1.50  $2.00  
Jul-1981  

(ch. Law 1981-209) 

Trailers for private use (under 500 lbs) $5.00  $6.75  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 



Trailers for private use (over 500 lbs) $2.50  $3.50  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $0.75  $1.00  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

Trailers for hire (under 2000 lbs) $2.50  $3.50  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $1.00  $1.50  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

Trailers for hire (over 2000 lbs) $10.00  $13.50  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $1.00  $1.50  
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-284) 

Recreational Vehicles (5th wheel) $20.00  $27.00 
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-197) 

Recreational Vehicles (camping trailer) $10.00  $13.50  
Jul-1972  

(ch. Law 1972-339) 

Recreational Vehicles (under 4,500lbs) $20.00  $27 
Jul-1973  

(ch. Law 1973-197) 

Recreational Vehicles (over 4,500 lbs) $35.00 $47.50  
Jul-1972  

(ch. Law 1972-339) 

Dealer and Manufacturer License Plate $12.50  $17.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

Exempt / Official License Plates $3.00 $4.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

Locally Operated Motor Vehicles for hire $12.50  $17.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

cwt (weight per hundred pounds) $1.50  $2.00  
Jul-1983  

(ch. Law 1983-318) 

Transporter $75.00  $101.25  
Oct-1988  

(ch. Law 1988-410) 

Commercial Motor Vehicle Surcharge on vehicles 
10,000 lbs or more 

$5.00  $10.00  Prior to 1992  



State Transportation Trust Fund Surcharge on all 
vehicles 

$2.00  $4.00  Jul-1991  

Specialty/Personalized Processing Fee $2.00  $5.00  
1996  

(ch. Law 1996-413) 

Florida Real Time Vehicle Info System Fee $0.50  $1.25  
Oct-1981  

(ch. Law 81-181) 

General Revenue/Dept. of Juvenile Justice 
Surcharge 

$1.00  $5.50  Prior to 1995  

Registration Service Charge Fees $2.50  $5.00  
Oct-1985  

(ch. Law 85-324) 

Automated vending or printer dispenser machine 
service fee (License Plate Validation; Vessel or 
Mobile Home Sticker) 

$1.00  $3.00  

Jul-1990  
(ch. Law 90-132) 

Automated vending  

 
Oct-1998  

(ch. Law 1998-324) 
Printer Dispenser 

Advanced Replacement Fee $2.00  $2.80  
Jul-1991  

(ch. Law 91-82) 

Retro reflective Material Fee $0.50  $1.50 
Oct-1983  

(ch. Law 83-318) 

Original/Replacement License Plate Fee $10.00  $28.00 
Jul-1990  

(ch. Law 90-132) 

Initial Registration Fee $100.00  $225.00  Oct-1989  

MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE FEES 

Original/Duplicate $24.00  $70.00  Oct-1989 

Fast Title $7.00  $10.00  Oct-1989 

For-hire Vehicle Title $3.00  $49.00  Oct-1989 

Delinquent Title Fee $10.00  $20.00  Oct-1989 

Re-inspection fee -  $20.00  New Fee 

Service fee for paper title -  $2.50  New Fee 



RECORD/PUBLICATION FEES 

Crash Reports $2  $10 
Oct-1988  

(ch. Law 82-130) 

Driver History Records (DDL/3-year) $2.10 $8.00 Sep-1997 

Driver History Records (DDL/7-year, complete or 
certified) 

$3.10 $10.00  Sep-1997 

Florida Administrative Weekly Publications for 
Dealers 

-  $75.00 New Fee 

RECORD/PUBLICATION FEES 

Nongame Wildlife Trust Fund Title Fee $4.00 $10.00  
Oct-1984  

(ch. Law 84-194) 

Manatee License Plate Fee $20.00  $25.00  
Oct-1998  

(ch. Law 98-415) 

Conserve Wildlife License Plate Fee $15.00  $25.00  
Jul-1998  

(ch. Law 98-181) 

2009 September 29, 2009, Electra Theodorides-Bustle resigns as Executive Director. 

2009 Seven field offices were closed throughout the year due to continued revenue 
shortfalls.  Crawfordville, Bunche Park, Jacksonville Dunn Avenue, Cross City, 
Green Cove Springs, Jacksonville Southside and Wauchula were closed and 
positions were reduced. 

2009 September 29, 2009, the Cabinet appoints Julie Jones as Executive Director 
effective September 30, 2009. 

2006-2009 Implementation of Real ID Requirements 

2010 January 4, 2010, field offices begin issuing Real ID compliant credentials. 

2010 Emergency Contact Information (ECI) reaches 3-million registered customers 

2010 On June 30, 2010 there were 15,553,387 licensed drivers in Florida with 5,192,137 
licneses issued during the fiscal year and 551,456 Identification card issued.   

 

Division of Driver Licenses 

Incorporated into 



Division of Motorist Services 
 

2010 Sandra C. Lambert appointed first Director of the Division of Motorist Services 

2011 Division of Motor Vehicles and the Division of Driver Licenses become part of the 
the Division of Motorist Services.  A reorganization takes place to re-align the 
agency with this new structure.  The new structure is later formalized by the 
legislature. 

2011 On June 30, 2011 there were 15,507,284 licensed drivers in Florida with 5,110,325 
licneses and identification cards issued during the fiscal year.  There were 
19,197,024 vehicle registration transactions completed during the fiscal year. 

2011 Uniform shirts were issued to driver license examiners in Miami-Dade, Broward 
and Volusia Counties. 

2011 Clayton “Boyd” Walden is appointed new Director of Motorist Services effective 
December 9, 2011. 

2012 Division of Motorist Services is reorganized effective February 1, 2012. 

2012 On June 30, 2012 there were 15,374,230 licensed drivers in Florida with 5,278,758 
licneses and identification cards issued during the fiscal year.  There were 
20,024,942 vehicle registration transactions completed during the fiscal year. 

2012 Transition of driver licensing services to the county tax collectors continues.  All 
counties, with the exception of Miami-Dade, Broward and Volusia counties must 
take over serves by July 1, 2015. 

2013 As of January 1, 2013, there were 15,378,206 licensed drivers in Florida and 
18,240,188 registered vehicles.  

2013  Transition of driver licensing services to the county tax collectors continues.  As of 
December 31, 2013, there were 173 tax collector offices offering credentialing 
services in 59 counties, 31 HSMV offices remained open with 11 of those 
scheduled to close by June 30, 2015. 

2014 As of January 1, 2014, there were 15,417,032 licensed drivers in Florida and 
18,622,909 registered vehicles. 

2014 New automated driver license testing system is implemented using one fifty 
question test instead of two twenty question tests, one for road signs and one for 
road rules (Statewide rollout began April 22, 2014).  Also began using 
“RoadScholar,” a tablet based road test scoring tool in all state offices and for 
third party testers offering road tests.  RaodScholar offered GPS capabilities that 
assist in quality assurance for driving tests. 

2014 Vehicle base regsitration fees reduced September 1, 2014 

2015 As of January 1, 2015, there were 15,620,312 licensed drivers in Florida and 
19,060,818 registered vehicles. 

2015 Volusia County began piloting the EZappointment system for customers to book 
appoinments for service online.  This system was to replace the aging and 



outdated OASIS system. 

2015 The transition of driver licensing services to the County Tax Collectors was 
completed on June 30, 2015.  As of July 1, 2015, Motorst Services was operating 19 
driver licensing office in Broward, Miami-Dade, and Volousia Counties.  The 
County Tax Collectors were offering driver licensing services in 59 counties with a 
total of 182 offices. 

2015 Effective November 12, 2015, C. Boyd Dickerson-Walden moved to Director of 
Information Systems Administration and Robert Kynoch became director of 
Motorist Services. 

2016 New Capture and EFS programs implemented in FDLIS as part of the Motorist 
Modenization and Online Registration and Identity Operating System(ORION) 
project. 

 
2016 The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) technology hardware was be 

relocated throughout the weekend of May 6-8, 2016.  

   
2016 Effective July 1, address changes for driver licenses and motor vehicle registrations are 

required to be made within 30 days. 

 
2016 Class E Knowledge Exams in Chinese were deployed statewide on September 1, 2016. 

 

2016 Former Military vehicles were now eligible to registered and titled in Florida.  The registration 

allows the vehicle to be used for exhibitions, parades or public display.   

2016 Hurricanes Hermine and Matthew impact Florida. 

2016    Class E Knowledge Exams in Arabic were deployed statewide on November 4, 2016. 
 

2016  As of December 31, 2016, 77.94% of all driver licenses and identification cards issued are Real 
ID compliant.  

2017 As of January 1, 2017, There are 61 county Tax Collectors providing driver license services in 
190 offices.  19 state driver license offices in Broward, Miami-Dade and Volusia Counties and 
there were 13 Florida Licensing on Wheels (FLOW) mobile units. 

2017 On June 23, 2017, medical majijuana became legal in Florida. 

2017 Began issuance of a redesigned Florida Driver License in August, 2017.  The new credential 
was available in all service centers by the end of December, 2017. 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

  

2017

 Hurricane Irma causes office closures throughout Florida beginning on September 7, 2017. 
Due to storm damage, offices in several counties remained closed for an extended period of 
time. 

2017 Huricane Nate impacts the Florida panhandle on October 7, 2017.  

2017  As of December 31, 2017, 84.48% of all driver licenses and identification cards issued are Real 
ID compliant. 

2018 As of January 1, 2018, There are 61 county Tax Collectors providing driver license services in 
190 offices.  17 state driver license offices in Broward, Miami-Dade and Volusia Counties and 
there were 13 Florida Licensing on Wheels (FLOW) mobile units. 

2018 Subtropical Storm Alberto impacts Florida over the Memorial Day Weekend.  Makes landfall 
near Panama City on May 28, 2018. 

 

2018 Effective July 1, 2018, Veteran Identification Cards and Veteran Health Identification Cards 
were added to the list of acceptable documents to obtain ‘veteran’ status. Removed the fees 
for adding the word “Veteran” to an identification card or driver license, and prohibits tax 
collectors from charging a $6.25 for any driver license transaction for a veteran. 

2018 Effective July 1, 2018, HB 185 provides when a tax collector administers a subsequent 
driver license knowledge or skills test, the tax collector retains the fee, minus the general 
revenue surcharge. Provides when a tax collector processes the fee for reinstatement of a 
driver license following a suspension or revocation, the tax collector retains a portion of the 
fee. The remainder of the fee is deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund and 
the General Revenue Fund. 

2018 Effective July 1, 2018, HB 215 defines "autocycle" and revises the definition of "motorcycle." 
Requires safety belt usage by autocycle operator/passenger under the age of 18, and 
authorizes autocycle operation without a motorcycle endorsement. Defines “mobile carrier,” 
and authorizes a mobile carrier to operate on sidewalks and crosswalks with all the rights 
and duties applicable to a pedestrian under the same circumstances, except that the mobile 
carrier must not unreasonably interfere with pedestrians or traffic and must yield the right-
of-way to pedestrians on the sidewalk or crosswalk. 

2018 Effective October 1, 2018, HB 135 requires DHSMV to include language on the motor 
vehicle registration application that allows a deaf or hard of hearing applicant to indicate 
voluntarily that he or she is deaf or hard of hearing. This notation will be included through the 
Driver and Vehicle Information Database and available through the Florida Crime Information 
Center system. Changes the name of the organization authorized to receive a voluntary $1 
contribution on the registration application from Prevent Blindness to Preserve Vision. 

2019 Effective January 1, 2019, HB 85, voter registration list maintenance, requires DHSMV to 



submit certain information to DOS for the purpose of sharing the information with a 
nongovernmental entity. 

2019 Effective January 1, 2019, Requires driver improvement course providers to submit course 
completion information to the appropriate clerk of the circuit court, through the Florida 
Courts E-Filing Portal, within three days of the school’s receipt of the course completion 
certificate number from DHSMV. Drivers will no longer be liable for filing the certificate with 
the clerk. 

Executive Directors – H. Neil Kirkman (August 1969- February 1970), Ralph Davis (March 1970– 
September 1978), Chester P. Blakemore (September 1978- August 1982), James 
W. York (July 1982 – October 1982 (interim)), Robert A. Butterworth (November 
1982- June 1984), Leonard R. Mellon (July 1984- February 1992), Fred O. Dickinson 
(Interim February 1992 – June 1992; Executive Director June 1992 – March 2007), 
Electra Bustle (March 2007-September 29, 2009), Julie Jones (September 30, 
2009-April 30, 2014), Terry L. Rhodes (May 1, 2014 – present) 

  Driver License and Motorist Services Directors:  C.W. Kieth (1969-1987), James Cox (1987-
January 31, 1994), Glenn Blocker, interim (1994-1995), Sandra C. Lambert (1995-
2011), C. Boyd Dickerson-Walden (2011-2015) Robert Kynoch (2015-present). 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 


