

# **INFORMATION NOTICE**

# DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES

DATE: 08/22/24

Information Notice (INFO)
INFO 24-022

SUBJECT: Application for Title Transfer or Certificate of Destruction for Towing and Storage Liens for Tows Completed on or after July 1, 2024

### **Overview:**

The 2024 Florida Legislature passed <u>HB 179</u>, which introduced various changes to Towing and Storage Liens effective July 1, 2024. Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is in the process of implementing the technical aspects of HB 179. However, for tows completed on or after July 1, 2024, please review the instructions provided in the Details section below. For tows completed on or before June 30, 2024, continue to follow the processing instructions provided in <u>TL-26 Transfer of Certificate of Title Upon Sale for Towing and Storage Lien or Application for Certificate of Destruction by Towing or Transport Company.</u>

#### **Details:**

For tows completed on or after July 1, 2024, follow the updated processing instructions below:

- The advertisement of public sale must be posted on a publicly available website maintained by an approved third-party service. This advertisement must be posted 20-days prior to the date of sale, and must include the following details:
  - o Name, physical address, and telephone number of tow company
  - Time and place of sale
  - Motor vehicle license plate number
  - Motor vehicle identification number (VIN)
  - Vessel hull identification number (if applicable)
  - Amount due for towing
  - Amount due for recovery
  - Amount due for storage
  - Administrative fees

## At this time, the approved Third-Party Service providers are:

Auto Data Direct (ADD): <a href="www.CarLocate.com">www.CarLocate.com</a> as of July 1, 2024.

Beacon (TowLien): <a href="https://findmycar.us">https://findmycar.us</a> will be available August 27, 2024.

We will allow the newspaper advertisement to continue for Beacon (TowLien) until close of business on August 26, 2024.

- "Newer Model" means a motor vehicle or vessel that is three (3) model years old or less, beginning with the model year of the motor vehicle or vessel as year one.
- "Older Model" means a motor vehicle or vessel that is more than three (3) model years old, beginning with the model year of the motor vehicle or vessel as year one.
- If the motor vehicle or vessel is an older model, and remains unclaimed, or charges for recovery, towing, or storage remain unpaid, may be sold free of all prior liens 35 days after the date of storage if determined to be an older model, three (3) model years old.
- If the motor vehicle or vessel is a newer model, three (3) model years or less, it may be sold 57 days after the date of storage.
- An administrative fee for consensual and non-consensual tows not exceeding \$250 may be charged to registered owner(s) or lienholder(s) to release the motor vehicle or vessel from the notice of lien.
- If the date of sale was not included in the notice of lien, or sale information changed, a notice of sale must be sent to the registered owner(s) and lienholder(s) 30-days before the date of sale to the address provided by the state of record for older model motor vehicles or vessels.
- If the motor vehicle or vessel is a newer model, the notice of sale must be sent 52-days before the date of sale.
- Notice of Lien must be sent by certified mail to the registered owner(s), lienholder(s), and insurance companies within 5 business days, excluding Saturday, Sunday, or federal holidays.
- In no event shall the Notice of Lien be sent less than 30-days before the public sale of an older model motor vehicle or vessel, and no less than 52 days for a newer model motor vehicle or vessel.
- To assess storage fees, the Notice of Lien must be sent within 5-days after the date of tow. Only exception for Notice of Lien sent 5-days after the date of tow and assess storage fees is if the motor vehicle or vessel has registered owner(s) and a lienholder, then only the lienholder may be charged storage fees for 5-days of storage.

## **Conclusion:**

If you need additional information, please contact your next level of management or the Field Support Center.



# **PUBLICATION OF VEHICLE OR VESSEL SALE**

LIENOR INFORMATION
LIENOR NAME:
PHYSICAL ADDRESS:
TELEPHONE NUMBER:
VEHICLE OR VESSEL INFORMATION
VIN or HIN:
LICENSE PLATE(If Known):
PUBLIC SALE INFORMATION
LOCATION OF SALE:
DATE OF SALE:
TIME OF SALE:
AMOUNTS DUE
TOWING CHARGE:
RECOVERY CHARGE:
STORAGE CHARGE: *
ADMINISTRATIVE FEE:
DATE OF SUBMISSION:
TRANSACTION CHARGE:
DATA STATUS:
The lienor listed above has complied with the requirements of Florida statute 713.78(6), submitting the information listed above to Auto Data Direct and it has been published on the website opera

g all of ted by Auto Data Direct, CarLocate.com. Additionally, this information has been electronically reported by Auto Data Direct to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

\*Storage charges may continue to accrue and increase daily. Contact lienor for current amount due for storage.

Note: In the event that the vehicle or vessel is not retrieved and the public sale takes place, the lienor must submit a copy of this document to Florida DHSMV with his title application.