

ELECTRA THEODORIDES-BUSTLE

Executive Director

January 15, 2008

TO: All Fire and Property and Casualty Companies

Authorized to Issue Motor Vehicle Policies in Florida

FROM: Deborah Todd, Chief

Bureau of Financial Responsibility

SUBJECT: Revision to Memo dated December 19, 2007

FR (4) Cases – Increased BIL/PDL limits for DUI Cases

Effective October 1, 2007, s. 324.023 Florida Statutes, requires proof of increased financial responsibility in the form of liability insurance for bodily injury or death, in those circumstances where a person has been convicted for driving under the influence. This section pertains to operators found guilty, or who enters a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of driving under the influence under s. 316.193, F.S., after October 1, 2007. The increased requirements of liability insurance upon conviction of a DUI will be in the amount of \$100,000, because of bodily injury to, or death of any one person, \$300,000 for similar liability for two or more persons in any one crash and in the amount of \$50,000 because of property damage liability in any one crash, or combined single limits of \$350,000 to the extent of the above limits.

Due to programming issues we are **advancing** the period of time for the replacement of an SR-22 with an FR-44 Form, we will implement the following procedures effective **February 2, 2008.**

Effective **February 2, 2008**, we will require the customer to submit verification of the higher limits by submitting an FR-44 from their insurance carrier verifying the coverage of the higher limits. An FR-46 will be submitted by the insurance company to notify cancellation for these cases

Any SR-22 that has been received during the time period of October 1, 2007 through **February 1, 2008**, will be accepted at the 10k/20k/10k limits. However, it is required that any SR-22, received during this time period, will need to be replaced by an FR-44 with the

Page 2 January 15, 2008

required higher liability limits **prior** to February 2, 2008, to be in compliance with 324.023 F.S. If we receive any FR-44s from your company **prior** to February 2nd we will hold these forms until we are able to update the customer's record. This will ensure full compliance by all affected customers.

All 4 cases due to an alcohol related conviction after October 1, 2007, will require the increased limits of 100k/300k/50k in order to reinstate. If the customer had the required liability limits at the time of the alcohol related offense no fee will be required. If they did not have the required limits a customer who reinstates prior to February 2, 2008, will only pay a \$15.00 reinstatement fee. The reinstatement fee on or after February 2, 2008, will be a fee of \$150, \$250, or \$500 dollars.

• The customers can require clarifications from the agency by calling the customer service center at 850-617-2000.

dlt