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August 25, 2010

TO: All Fire and Property and Casualty Companies
Authorized to Issue Motor Vehicle Policies in Florida

FROM:  Deborah Todd, Chief Wﬁ/

Bureau of Financial Responsibility

SUBJECT: Mandatory Programming Required for Electronic Non Cancellable
SR22/26-PIP Cases Conviction Charges for No Proof of Insurance

Effective September 1, 2010 Section 316.646(3), Florida Statute, was amended to allow our
department to automatically suspend the registration and driver license of a driver convicted under s. 316.646
F.S., for operating a motor vehicle with no proof of insurance.

With this law change, we will have the authority to suspend a customer’s driver license and
registration upon receipt of a conviction of this violation, not just the court ordered cases. This will allow our
department the ability to enforce Personal Injury Protection/Property Damage Liability (PIP/PDL) insurance
requirements more thoroughly. We are currently programming for these changes and anticipate enforcing this law
after October 1, 2010.

Any SR-22s that are issued for tracking PIP/PDL insurance will be reported electronically by the
insurance company to this department. This should be reported in the electronic layout with a ‘2’ in field position
70. It is not necessary to have the complete case number. The case number is required in order to distinguish an
SR-22 that is issued to cover personal injury and property damage insurance only. Manual Forms will only be
accepted on an individually approved basis. All policies with an SR-22 for PIP/PDL insurance only, must have
“PIP Six Month Non-Cancellable™, at the top of the pink form and include the complete case number in the
appropriate box.

Any SR-22s issued are required to be maintained for a 2 year period from the suspension date. If the
policy cancels during the 2 year period, you must notify the department of the cancellation with an SR-26 in order
for us to take enforcement action. The SR-26 will cancel all SR-22s where the policy number and the company
code match, and a newer SR-22 has not been issued.

If a driver also requires an SR-22 for a liability case, then a PIP/PDL 2 Case is not necessary. The
SR-22 without a ‘2’ in field position 70 will apply to all cases except for a DUI case that requires an FR-44. An
FR-44 will be applied to all case types including the new SR-22 for PIP/PDL. Only one of the following is

required:
. FR-44 — Limits of 100k/300k/50k or more will apply to all FR Case types 1, 2, 3,4, 5, 6 or X.
5 SR-22 — Limits of 10k/20k/10k or more will only apply to FR Case types 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 and 4 prior
to 10/01/2007).
° SR-22 — Six Month Non Cancellable PIP/PDL insurance will only apply to an FR Case type ‘2.

If you have any questions in regards to programming you may contact Bennett White, at
bennettwhite@flhsmv.gov.

DLT/ir

* Service * Integrity * Courtesy + Professionalism +* Innovation * Excellence
An Equal Opportunity Employer



